Blog Tour: 10 Things I Can See From Here [Guest Post]

Posted March 1, 2017 by Stephanie in Blog Tour, Giveaway, Guest Post / 4 Comments

Blog Tour: 10 Things I Can See From Here [Guest Post]10 Things I Can See from Here by Carrie Mac
Published by Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers on February 28th 2017
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, LGBTQ+
Pages: 320
Goodreads
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

Perfect for fans of Finding Audrey and Everything, Everything, this is the poignant and uplifting story of Maeve, who is dealing with anxiety while falling in love with a girl who is not afraid of anything.
Think positive.Don’t worry; be happy.Keep calm and carry on.
Maeve has heard it all before. She’s been struggling with severe anxiety for a long time, and as much as she wishes it was something she could just talk herself out of, it’s not. She constantly imagines the worst, composes obituaries in her head, and is always ready for things to fall apart. To add to her troubles, her mom—the only one who really gets what Maeve goes through—is leaving for six months, so Maeve will be sent to live with her dad in Vancouver.
Vancouver brings a slew of new worries, but Maeve finds brief moments of calm (as well as even more worries) with Salix, a local girl who doesn’t seem to worry about anything. Between her dad’s wavering sobriety, her very pregnant stepmom insisting on a home birth, and her bumbling courtship with Salix, this summer brings more catastrophes than even Maeve could have foreseen. Will she be able to navigate through all the chaos to be there for the people she loves?

Guest Post

What’s a typical writing day for you?

            Typical isn’t a word that usually floats around me for any reason, but when I think about it, there is a kind of rhythm to my writing process if I look at it over a longer period, say weeks or months. Even years. Let’s go for a ‘creative average’ of sorts.

            I travel a lot. Not for any particular reason other than being curious, wanting to see new things and be in motion and explore the world, all of which lends itself to my writing and makes a great excuse to take off when there doesn’t seem to be any other.

            So, when I’m traveling, I’m collecting ideas, images, characters, eavesdropping on conversations for my nebulous dialogue database. I’ve always got my kids with me though, so I don’t get much new writing done when we’re away from home. I can edit, re-read, and revise (which is different from editing – that’s another post), and so I always bring a spiral-bound manuscript with me. I also bring a nice rainbow bouquet of highlighters, mechanical pencils.

            If my partner is with me, I get up before anyone and go for a walk to some coffee shop in whatever town we’re in, or the motel lobby if we’re doing roadside dives, or the front seat or picnic table if we’re traveling in Harriet, our very old camper van. I work for a couple of hours with earplugs in, and whenever I’m done and I look up, I’m always surprised to find where I am. I’m not sure what I expect, but I always get a little start.

            If we’re not travelling, I get up at 5:30am and go for a walk for an hour and then settle in to a coffee shop to work with earplugs (or ear buds if I want to appear less weird) for two or three hours. Even then, at my usual café only four blocks from home, when I look up I’m always surprised to see where I am. I like my imagination for that. It doesn’t care where I am.

            When I go home, my partner goes to work, and the kids and I get on with our day. I do have to do another chunk of writer-required officey-type stuff on a daily basis—emails, answering letters, contract and tax papers, research inquiries, author appearance arrangements, lecture writing—which I do whenever I get the chance. That stuff is not my favorite, so sometimes I have to bribe myself with another cup of coffee or a piece of chocolate.

            People often ask me what a typical day of writing looks like to me. I’m happy to babble on about what my writing life looks like, but the most important thing is that people need to know that there is no right way to write. Don’t wait for the fancy office in the bigger house, don’t wait until your children are grown, don’t wait until you get the perfect accompanying day job, don’t even wait until you get the brilliant idea that’s eluded you so far.

            Just write with what you have. Where you have. And when you have.

            I look forward to reading it.

About the Author

CARRIE MAC is an award-winning Canadian novelist making her US debut. She lives in East Vancouver, where this story takes place. Check out her website at www.carriemac.com and follow her on twitter at @CarrieMacWrites.

Giveaway

1 Copy of 10 THINGS I CAN SEE FROM HERE (US Only!)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tour Schedule

February 20Butter My Books

February 21The Compulsive Reader

February 22Take Me Away to A Great Read

February 23The Mod Podge Bookshelf

February 24Bookhounds YA

February 27thNick and Nereyda’s Infinite Booklist

                            Adventures in YA Publishing

February 28thRamblings of the Perpetual New Girl

March 1stIn Wonderland

March 2ndYA Wednesdays

March 3rdHere’s to Happy Endings

March 4th: Adventures in YA Publishing

March 6thNo More Grumpy Bookseller

March 7thA Midsummer Night’s Read

March 8thRainy Day Coffee and Books

March 9thThe Fandom

March 10thPicture Books to YA and Everything in Be”Tween”

March 13thBookworm Everlasting

March 14thThe Moral of Our Stories

March 15Fangirlish

March 16The Young Folks

March 17Fiktshun

March 20YA Books Central

March 21Xpresso Reads

March 22A Dream Within A Dream

Let’s talk about it!

Stephanie
Divider

4 responses to “Blog Tour: 10 Things I Can See From Here [Guest Post]

  1. danielle hammelef

    I’m excited to read this because someone very close to me sufferes from anxiety to the point of tears, racing pulse, losing her voise, vomiting and more. i don’t understand where it comes from, but maybe this book will help me be a better friend.

  2. Megan

    I struggle with anxiety. It’s made it hard to get a job, meet people, go out and do things that normal 20-somethings do but I’m rarely able to MAKE myself go out. It’s hard finding books that address this kind of thing (and address it correctly) and that’s one reason I’m really looking forward to reading this book!

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge