Author: Alison Goodman

The Dark Days Club [Review]

Posted January 30, 2017 by Stephanie in Review / 1 Comment

The Dark Days Club [Review]The Dark Days Club by Alison Goodman
Series: Lady Helen #1
Published by Viking Books for Young Readers on January 26th, 2016
Genres: Young Adult, Historical, Paranormal
Pages: 512
Format: Paperback
Source: Publisher
Goodreads
three-half-stars
Series Rating: four-stars
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

"Captivates with a mix of history and fantasy. [An] immersive, action-packed narrative. USA Today's Happy Ever After From theNew York Timesbestselling author of Eon and Eona;a Regency adventure series starring a stylish and intrepid Buffy-esque demon-hunter London, April 1812. On the eve of eighteen-year-old Lady Helen Wrexhall's presentation to the queen, one of her family's housemaids disappears-and Helen is drawn into the shadows of Regency London. There, she meets Lord Carlston, one of the few who can stop the perpetrators: a cabal of demons infiltrating every level of society. Dare she ask for his help, when his reputation is almost as black as his lingering eyes? And will her intelligence and headstrong curiosity wind up leading them into a death trap?"

My Thoughts

So for the most part I liked this book. I think my main issue with this was just the fact that I have been in such a book slumpy mood that it’s put a damper on not only the amount of books I’ve been reading but whether or not I enjoy them. It took me a little bit to get into this story. And I’m not sure if it’s because it’s a long book. (But I did just fine while listening to The Diviners) but it just felt like it was a long book. It wasn’t boring it was just long. I’m not sure if I’m making any sense. Like I said, it could be my slump that I’ve been in. I do however appreciate how real this felt. It really seems like Alison Goodman did her research on the time period, because I felt like I was there.

I also appreciated how Alison Goodman wrote. I think she did a great job with creating a world that felt real and taking people, places, and things from our actual history and creating paranormal and fantasy elements within that. She did a great job at creating characters and I can’t wait for more of them.

I think maybe I would have felt a little more connected to the book if the romance was a bit more on the forefront. I do love me some romance and I just felt that it was really lackluster in that department.

Other than that, I’m quite excited to finish off this series. Because I did enjoy it. And you should give it a shot too!

three-half-stars

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Stephanie
Divider

Blog Tour: The Dark Days Pact [Review & Giveaway]

Posted January 27, 2017 by Stephanie in Blog Tour, Giveaway, Review / 6 Comments

Blog Tour: The Dark Days Pact [Review & Giveaway]

Blog Tour: The Dark Days Pact [Review & Giveaway]The Dark Days Pact by Alison Goodman
Series: Lady Helen #2
Published by Viking Books for Young Readers on January 31st 2017
Genres: Young Adult, Historical, Paranormal
Pages: 496
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
Goodreads
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

June 1812. Just weeks after her catastrophic coming-out ball, Lady Helen Wrexhall—now disowned by her uncle—is a full member of the demon-hunting Dark Days Club. Her mentor, Lord Carlston, has arranged for Helen and her maid, Darby, to spend the summer season in Bristol, where Helen can sharpen her Reclaimer powers. Then the long-term effects of Carlston’s Reclaimer work take hold, and his sanity begins to slip. At the same time, Carlston’s Dark Days Club colleague and nemesis will stop at nothing to bring Helen over to his side—and the Duke of Selburn is determined to marry her. The stakes are ever higher for Helen, and her decision will truly change the world…

My Thoughts

I am so thankful for Penguin for sending me the paperback of the first book and an ARC of the second one. I have to say the first one was a solid 3.5 stars for me, but the second installment really had me hooked! I liked Lady Helen even more in this second one. I don’t know if it was because Lady Helen seems stronger or what, but I definitely loved reading her story.

There is so much that happens in this story and I honestly do not want to spoil anything for you guys. Just know that if you enjoyed the first book, you’ll love this second one and you will be left dying for the third book!

About the Author

Alison Goodman (www.alisongoodman.com.au) is the author of the internationally bestselling and award-winning Eon/Eona duology, as well as a YASF thriller, Singing the Dogstar Blues, and the adult novel A New Kind of Death (originally titled Killing the Rabbit). She was a D.J. O’Hearn Memorial Fellow at Melbourne University, holds a Master of Arts, and teaches creative writing at the postgraduate level.

Website || Twitter || Goodreads || Facebook || Instagram || Pinterest

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Enter for a chance to win either one (1) grand prize set of Lady Helen books, including a paperback of The Dark Days Club and a hardcover of The Dark Days Pact by Alison Goodman (ARV: $28.98), or to be one of five (5) second prize winners to receive paperback copies of The Dark Days Club by Alison Goodman (ARV: $10.99).
NO PURCHASE NECESSARY. Enter between 12:00 AM Eastern Time on January 23, 2017 and 12:00 AM on February 13, 2017.  Open to residents of the fifty United States and the District of Columbia who are 13and older. Winners will be selected at random on or about February 14, 2017. Odds of winning depend on number of eligible entries received. Void where prohibited or restricted by law.

Tour Schedule

Week One:
1/23 – A Page With a View – Like/Try/Why
1/24 – Tales of a Ravenous Reader – Interview
1/25 – Twinning for Books – Review + Mood Board
1/26 – My Friends Are Fiction – Guest Post
1/27 – In Wonderland – Review
Week Two:
1/30 – Alexa Loves Books – Bookish Style File
1/31 – The Reading Nook Reviews – Interview
2/1 – Xpresso Reads – Playlist
2/2 – The YA Book Traveler – They Did What?!
2/3 – Icey Books – Guest Post
Week Three:
2/6 – YA Book Central – Excerpt
2/7 – Fiction Fare – Guest Post
2/8 – Forever Young Adult – Coming-Out Ball Mishaps
2/9 – Dark Faerie Tales – Interview
2/10 – Adventures of a Book Junkie – Reasons to Read
four-stars

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Stephanie
Divider
Eon: Dragoneye Reborn by Alison Goodman [Review]

Eon: Dragoneye Reborn by Alison Goodman [Review]

Posted January 12, 2017 by Lizzie in Review / 1 Comment

My Thoughts Well my book nerds, I don’t quite know what to think. Overall, this novel was certainly not what I was expecting. I’m giving it a solid three stars because there was aspects of this story that I enjoyed – the plot was unique, the Asian influence really interesting – but it fell short […]

Divider