Author: Cassandra Clare

Review: Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy

Posted January 19, 2017 by Lizzie in Review / 1 Comment

Review: Tales from the Shadowhunter AcademyTales from the Shadowhunter Academy by Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan, Maureen Johnson, Robin Wasserman
Published by Margaret K. McElderry Books on November 15th 2016
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult
Pages: 672
Format: Paperback
Source: Purchased
Goodreads
five-stars
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

Simon Lewis has been a human and a vampire, and now he is becoming a Shadowhunter. But the events of City of Heavenly Fire left him stripped of his memories, and Simon isn’t sure who he is anymore. He knows he was friends with Clary, and that he convinced the total goddess Isabelle Lightwood to go out with him…but he doesn’t know how. And when Clary and Isabelle look at him, expecting him to be a man he doesn’t remember…Simon can’t take it.
So when the Shadowhunter Academy reopens, Simon throws himself into this new world of demon-hunting, determined to find himself again. His new self. Whomever this new Simon might be.
But the Academy is a Shadowhunter institution, which means it has some problems. Like the fact that non-Shadowhunter students have to live in the basement. And that differences—like being a former vampire—are greatly looked down upon. At least Simon is trained in weaponry—even if it’s only from hours of playing D&D.
Join Simon on his journey to become a Shadowhunter, and learn about the Academy’s illustrious history along the way, through guest lecturers such as Jace Herondale, Tessa Gray, and Magnus Bane. These ten short stories give an epilogue to the Mortal Instruments series and provide glimpses of what’s in store in the Dark Artifices.

Holy molly she’s at it again. If you’re a fan of the Shadowhunter world, I am not kidding when I say this was seriously SO GOOD! As per usual, books I love get something short and sweet: here go’s!

This collection of short stories was literally EVERYTHING a die hard Cassandra Clare fan could have wanted. Clare, along with her fellow author helpers, gives her darling readers Simon’s journey through the Shadowhunter Academy along with SO MANY AMAZING mini back stories of the characters we already love. (hint hint HINT: there is a story with a certain Herondale and Ms. Gray that features their children. Papa Herondale ladies and gentlemen!) I just about combust. I read this is probably three sittings, it’s massive, and full of some many feels and little cinnamon roll sweet hearts Clare fans kill for. Everything about this collection was perfect, I have zero complaints! If I was already dying for Lord of Shadows, being back in the shadowhunter world has only lit a hotter fire under my fangirl belly. If you’re looking to open and book and feel like you’ve come home. Go. Pick. IT. UP!

five-stars
Lizzie
Divider

Clockwork Prince [Review]

Posted March 26, 2016 by Stephanie in Review / 2 Comments

Clockwork Prince [Review]Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare
Series: The Infernal Devices #2
Published by Margaret K. McElderry on December 6th 2011
Genres: Young Adult, Urban Fantasy, Paranormal, Steampunk, Romance, Historical
Pages: 502
Format: Audiobook
Source: Library
Goodreads
four-half-stars
Series Rating: five-stars
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

In the magical underworld of Victorian London, Tessa Gray has at last found safety with the Shadowhunters. But that safety proves fleeting when rogue forces in the Clave plot to see her protector, Charlotte, replaced as head of the Institute. If Charlotte loses her position, Tessa will be out on the street—and easy prey for the mysterious Magister, who wants to use Tessa’s powers for his own dark ends.
With the help of the handsome, self-destructive Will and the fiercely devoted Jem, Tessa discovers that the Magister’s war on the Shadowhunters is deeply personal. He blames them for a long-ago tragedy that shattered his life. To unravel the secrets of the past, the trio journeys from mist-shrouded Yorkshire to a manor house that holds untold horrors, from the slums of London to an enchanted ballroom where Tessa discovers that the truth of her parentage is more sinister than she had imagined. When they encounter a clockwork demon bearing a warning for Will, they realize that the Magister himself knows their every move—and that one of their own has betrayed them.
Tessa finds her heart drawn more and more to Jem, but her longing for Will, despite his dark moods, continues to unsettle her. But something is changing in Will—the wall he has built around himself is crumbling. Could finding the Magister free Will from his secrets and give Tessa the answers about who she is and what she was born to do?
As their dangerous search for the Magister and the truth leads the friends into peril, Tessa learns that when love and lies are mixed, they can corrupt even the purest heart.

My Thoughts

I am really loving The Infernal Devices more than I loved The Mortal Instruments (and yes, I know I still have to read the last 3 books in The Mortal Instruments and I will soon because I really want to read Lady Midnight!) But, goodness, I am in love with The Infernal Devices. I don’t know if it is because it’s a more interesting time, rather than modern day New York. Or if it’s just that I like the storyline more, but there is something about The Infernal Devices trilogy that makes me love it so much more than The Mortal Instruments.

I am in love with all of the characters in this series. There was a small time where I just felt like it was going a bit slow, but that could have been because I was sick. But that is the only reason why it isn’t a full 5 star book! There were times where I was shocked because of what happened and because I wasn’t expecting it. Especially in the case of View Spoiler »!

I really liked where this installment took the series and I honestly cannot wait to see what’s going to happen in the third and final book! Which I will be starting after I get caught up on other stuff and this wedding is passed! If you haven’t read this series yet, definitely give it a try! Even if you didn’t like The Mortal Instruments, you’d still possibly like this one. I love this series WAY more than I do The Mortal Instruments! 🙂

four-half-stars
Stephanie
Divider
Clockwork Angel [Review]

Clockwork Angel [Review]

Posted February 3, 2016 by Stephanie in Review / 2 Comments

Title: Clockwork Angel Author: Cassandra Clare Series: The Infernal Devices #1 Genre: Young Adult, Steampunk, Fantasy, Paranormal, Historical Pages: 479 Published By: Simon & Schuster on August 31, 2010 Challenges: 2016 TBR Pile, 2016 Steampunk Reading Challenge, 2016 Flights of Fantasy Where To Get:     In a time when Shadowhunters are barely winning the fight against the forces of darkness, one […]

Divider
City of Glass [Mini Review]

City of Glass [Mini Review]

Posted October 22, 2015 by Stephanie in Review / 0 Comments

Title: City of Glass Author: Cassandra Clare Series: The Mortal Instruments #3 Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal, Magic Pages: 541 Published By: Margaret K. McElderry Books on March 24, 2009 Challenges: 2015 TBR Pile, 2015 Reading Challenge Where To Get:   To save her mother’s life, Clary must travel to the City of Glass, the ancestral home of the Shadowhunters – never […]

Divider
City of Ashes [Mini Review]

City of Ashes [Mini Review]

Posted October 13, 2015 by Stephanie in Review / 1 Comment

“Well, I’m not kissing the mundane,” said Jace. “I’d rather stay down here and rot.” “That does it,” said Jace. “I’m going to get you a dictionary for Christmas this year.” “Why” Isabelle said. “So you can look up ‘fun.’ I’m not sure you know what it means.” No, I’m just a very naughty boy. […]

Divider
City of Bones [Review]

City of Bones [Review]

Posted July 20, 2015 by Stephanie in Review / 5 Comments

“Have you fallen in love with the wrong person yet?” Jace said, “Unfortunately, Lady of the Haven, my one true love remains myself.” …”At least,” she said, “you don’t have to worry about rejection, Jace Wayland.” “Not necessarily. I turn myself down occasionally, just to keep it interesting.” “Is this the part where you start […]

Divider