Author: Jake Halpern

Blog Tour: Nightfall [Interview, Review, Reading Experience, & Giveaway]

Posted September 15, 2015 by Stephanie in Blog Tour, Interview, Review / 1 Comment

Blog Tour: Nightfall [Interview, Review, Reading Experience, & Giveaway]Nightfall by Jake Halpern, Peter Kujawinski
Published by G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers on September 22nd 2015
Genres: Young Adult, Dystopian, Mystery, Thriller
Pages: 346
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
Goodreads
four-stars
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

The dark will bring your worst nightmares to light, in this gripping and eerie survival story, perfect for fans of James Dashner and Neil Gaiman.
On Marin’s island, sunrise doesn’t come every twenty-four hours—it comes every twenty-eight years. Now the sun is just a sliver of light on the horizon. The weather is turning cold and the shadows are growing long.
Because sunset triggers the tide to roll out hundreds of miles, the islanders are frantically preparing to sail south, where they will wait out the long Night.
Marin and her twin brother, Kana, help their anxious parents ready the house for departure. Locks must be taken off doors. Furniture must be arranged. Tables must be set. The rituals are puzzling—bizarre, even—but none of the adults in town will discuss why it has to be done this way.
Just as the ships are about to sail, a teenage boy goes missing—the twins’ friend Line. Marin and  Kana are the only ones who know the truth about where Line’s gone, and the only way to rescue him is by doing it themselves. But Night is falling. Their island is changing.
And it may already be too late.

Would you rather have 14 years of day or 14 years of night?

Peter: I guess 14 years of day, because I love life and 14 years of night seems a little too dangerous. But I’m already a little worried about this answer. What if 14 years of day is just way too boring?
Jake: Night would be suicide, and rather depressing, so I have to say day – though it would be absolutely crucial to have some great blackout curtains and a killer pair of sunglasses.

Would you rather read a scary book or watch a scary movie?

Peter: Nothing beats the social aspect of watching a scary movie together, but nothing is as immersive as reading a book – I go with book!
Jake: Book because I can enjoy it, get scared, and still go to sleep afterwards. Scary movies keep me up like six shots of espresso.

Would you rather live among vampires or live among zombies?

Peter: Definitely among vampires – they don’t seem quite as deadly or disgusting.
Jake: Vampires! You can coexist with vampires. They only come out at night. They are sexy and like to have fun. Why would you want to be with decomposing, rotting, walking corpses instead?

Would you rather live one life that lasts 1000 years or live 10 lives that last 100 years each?

Peter: Hmmm. I think I’d go with 10 lives – I like variety 🙂
Jake: Ten lives. It would be depressing to outlive all of your family and friends.

Would you rather change the past or be able to see into the future?

Peter: FUTURE, for sure. That way, I can make sure I avoid earthquakes.
Jake: Change the past. I would go back in time and not get my tongue caught in my girlfriend’s braces in middle school and, thus, save myself years of emotional trauma.

Would you rather have a year of summer or a year of winter?

Peter: Give me winter!!! I can guarantee you Jake will say summer. It’s an ongoing debate for us, as is whether Buffalo, NY is part of the East Coast or Midwest. It’s East Coast, right?
Jake: With all respect to my co-author Peter – you are NUTS. Give me a year of summer! I will spend it in my swim trunks, umbrella drink in hand!

Would you rather go a month without your cell phone or your computer?

Peter: I’d gladly give up my cell phone, but my computer is my creative outlet – I can’t give up that
Jake: I would gladly ditch my cell phone, set it on fire, throw it off a cliff, and run it over with a bulldozer. No question. In fact, I might do that right after I finish this interview.

Would you rather have a cup of coffee or a cup of tea?

Peter: Coffee all the time, coffee all the time.
Jake: I have to agree with my co-author, whose nickname is Kujo by the way. Coffee baby. How else would I wake up in the morning?

Would you rather have a sweet treat or a salty snack?

Peter: I guess salty snack, but I reserve the right to have an ice cream exception – see question 10!
Jake: Salty snack, with ginger ale.

Would you rather eat an entire chocolate cake or an entire gallon of ice cream?

Peter: Bring on the ice cream – and why would I stop at a gallon? Two or three sound more reasonable
Jake: I think ice-cream because I would be less likely to barf.

Thank you so much, Peter and Jake, for taking the time to entertain us with your answers! 🙂

I really enjoyed this book! This is a very original story. The day lasts 14 years and the night lasts 14 years. So, the sun rises every 28 years on this island. And I think that this was just so unique and interesting. I really enjoyed this aspect. I will definitely be looking out for books by Jake Halpern and Peter Kujawinski in the future!
I didn’t find this to be a horror. More like a suspenseful thriller. I was hoping to be more scared than I was, but that’s okay. I still really liked the story. There were definite creepy scenes. But I kind of wish there was more of a creep factor.
I really liked Marin and Kana (the twins) but I couldn’t really connect a whole lot with Line. I felt like he was just there at times. But I loved the dynamic between Marin and Kana and how their roles change throughout the book. At the beginning when it’s still day, Kana is blind, or so they thought until the sun started to set (then he could see some). So since Kana was mostly blind, he had to rely on Marin. When it becomes nighttime, Kana can see while it is more difficult for Marin to. So, in turn, Marin has to depend on Kana during night. I really liked this dynamic.
I really enjoyed this book regardless of the creep factor. Do I wish there was more horror in this? Yes. But I think it was still fast paced and thrilling enough to keep me reading. I also think that it was a great concept and such a unique story/setting. I can’t wait to read more from Jake and Peter!

My Reading Experience

Let’s talk about it!
Did you read Nightfall? Or do you want to? What intrigues you about this book? What did you think of the interview with Peter and Jake? Leave your thoughts in the comments! 🙂
four-stars
Stephanie
Divider