Author: Rachel Hawkins

Blog Tour: Journey’s End [Top Reasons To Read]

Posted October 28, 2016 by Stephanie in Blog Tour, Top Reasons / 0 Comments

Blog Tour: Journey’s End [Top Reasons To Read]

Blog Tour: Journey’s End [Top Reasons To Read]Journey's End by Rachel Hawkins
Published by G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers on October 25th 2016
Genres: Middle Grade, Fantasy, Mystery
Pages: 304
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
Goodreads
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

New York Times bestselling author Rachel Hawkins brings us a riveting middle grade fantasy-adventure, perfect for fans of Lisa Graff.   The town of Journey's End may not literally be at the end of the world, but it sure feels like it to Nolie Stanhope. Spending the summer with her scientist father in the tiny Scottish village isn't exactly Nolie's idea of a good time, but she soon finds a friend: native Journey's Ender Bel McKissick. 
While Nolie's father came to Journey's End to study the Boundary--a mysterious fog bank offshore--Bel's family  can’t afford to consider it a threat.  The McKissick’s livelihood depends on the tourists drawn by legends of a curse. Still, whether you believe in magic or science, going into the Boundary means you'll never come back. 
…Unless you do. Albert Etheridge, a boy who disappeared into the Boundary in 1914, suddenly returns--without having aged a day and with no memory of the past hundred years. Then the Boundary starts creeping closer to the town, threatening to consume everyone within.
While Nolie's father wants to have the village evacuated, Bel's parents lead the charge to stay in Journey's End. Meanwhile, Albert and the girls look for ways to stop the encroaching boundary, coming across an ancient Scottish spell that requires magic, a quest, and a sacrifice.

Why You Should Read Journey’s End!

1. It’s freaking Rachel Hawkins!

I mean you can’t go wrong with a Rachel Hawkins book! I absolutely adored her Hex Hall series and I loved Rebel Belle and now she wrote a middle grade book! I mean, I cannot wait to pick this book up!

2. It takes place in a tiny Scottish village!

If you are as obsessed with Ireland or Scotland as I am, you’ll want to read this book just because of the fact it takes place in Scotland!

3. It’s about a mysterious fog that makes most people disappear

Okay, I don’t know about you? But this is super intriguing for me! I mean, I’m already a little skeptical about fog. I think it’s beautiful, but it can be downright creepy and eerie. So if there is a fog out there that makes people disappear and never to be seen again, I definitely do not want to be near it. But I sure as hell do want to read about it!

Tour Schedule

10/24: The Reading Nook (Review)
10/25: Buttermybooks (Spotlight)
10/26: Once Upon a Twilight (Guest Post)
10/27: Novel Novice (Mood Board)
10/28: In Wonderland (Reasons to Read)
11/1: Green Bean Teen Queen (Reasons to Read)
11/2: YA Bibliophile (Review)
11/3: Stories & Sweeties (Review)
11/4: The Book Wars (Guest Post)
Stephanie
Divider

Rebel Belle [Review]

Posted March 16, 2016 by Stephanie in Review / 5 Comments

Rebel Belle [Review]Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins
Series: Rebel Belle #1
Published by Putnam Juvenile on April 8th 2014
Genres: Young Adult, Paranormal, Romance
Pages: 345
Format: Hardcover
Source: Purchased
Goodreads
five-stars
Series Rating: five-stars
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

Harper Price, peerless Southern belle, was born ready for a Homecoming tiara. But after a strange run-in at the dance imbues her with incredible abilities, Harper's destiny takes a turn for the seriously weird. She becomes a Paladin, one of an ancient line of guardians with agility, super strength and lethal fighting instincts.
Just when life can't get any more disastrously crazy, Harper finds out who she's charged to protect: David Stark, school reporter, subject of a mysterious prophecy and possibly Harper's least favorite person. But things get complicated when Harper starts falling for him—and discovers that David's own fate could very well be to destroy Earth.
With snappy banter, cotillion dresses, non-stop action and a touch of magic, this new young adult series from bestseller Rachel Hawkins is going to make y'all beg for more.

My Thoughts

Rachel Hawkins never ceases to make me fall in love with her books. I loved her Hex Hall series and I am so excited to call Rebel Belle a new favorite! I loved the story to it. I loved the paranormal aspect to it. And I especially loved the southern aspect to it. It made me want to pack my bags and move down south. It also made me want to watch Hart of Dixie again. 🙂

What I appreciated most about this story was that it was fast paced. It didn’t lag and have no plot movement. Harper wasn’t one of those bimbo’s who take forever with figuring out what she is and what she is supposed to do. I really appreciated that Hawkins did that. I hate having to go through a novel knowing who and what the main character is and should be doing when the main character hasn’t even figured it out yet.

I was also impressed with how much I loved the paranormal aspects. I wasn’t really sure what the paranormal stuff would be and it did take me a while to get used to the whole Paladin thing because I had never heard of Paladin’s prior to this book. Well, I probably did through The Big Bang Theory and an old ex of mine who loved World of Warcraft. But, I didn’t really know what to expect of that. But I really enjoyed it and I really enjoyed Harper kicking ass, especially while in a dress and heels.

Speaking of Harper Price, I loved her! She was such a great main character! I loved how she was so likable and funny. I also really like that she can kick some ass! And David is annoyingly adorable. There were times that I wanted to smack him but then there were times where I just couldn’t help but love him. Cannot wait to see more of them two together! 🙂

I also loved that ending! It was such a great ending and only makes me even more excited to pick up Miss Mayhem! Which I will be doing straight away! I will forever want to read anything Rachel Hawkins writes because there has never been a book that I didn’t like. Her writing just makes you want to keep reading until the very last page. If you haven’t picked up this series yet, you should! I really enjoyed it and cannot wait to read the rest of the series! 🙂

five-stars
Stephanie
Divider
Rebel Belle Series Giveaway + Spotlight

Rebel Belle Series Giveaway + Spotlight

Posted March 8, 2016 by Stephanie in Giveaway, Spotlight / 0 Comments

. Praise for Rebel Belle and Miss Mayhem “Harper is as quippy as you please, with a sass born of a sharp intellect….as surprising as it is delicious.” – Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books, STARRED REVIEW “If Buffy the Vampire Slayer were Southern instead of SoCal, raised on good manners, Cotillion and sweet tea–she would […]

Divider
Spellbound [Review]

Spellbound [Review]

Posted October 18, 2012 by Stephanie in Review / 0 Comments

My Review: Oh my God. I absolutely LOVE Sophie. She’s an amazing character and Rachel Hawkins has done a wonderful job at creating this world and the characters. Sophie is back in the third and final Hex Hall novel and she kicks ass. So many twists to keep you on your toes. As for being […]

Divider
Hex Hall [Review]

Hex Hall [Review]

Posted October 18, 2012 by Stephanie in Review / 1 Comment

 My Thoughts: I am a huge fan of witches, whether it be in books or movies or TV shows. My favorite witch-y show was Bewitched. So when I won this book through a giveaway, I was super excited to read it because I hadn’t read a witch book in quite some time. I’ve always wanted […]

Divider
Demonglass [Review]

Demonglass [Review]

Posted October 18, 2012 by Stephanie in Review / 0 Comments

My Thoughts: What can I say about Demonglass? Why is it always so hard to talk about a book you liked rather than disliked? Well, for starters, I couldn’t put Demonglass down. I loved it. This is the book that turned me from Team Archer to Team Cal. I absolutely love the main character, Sophie. […]

Divider