Genre: Children's

Blog Tour: She Loves You [My Favorite Beatle]

Posted June 19, 2018 by Stephanie in #PRHPartner, Blog Tour, Listicle, Spotlight / 2 Comments

Blog Tour: She Loves You [My Favorite Beatle]

Blog Tour: She Loves You [My Favorite Beatle]She Loves You (Yeah, Yeah, Yeah) by Ann Hood
Published by Penguin Workshop on June 26th 2018
Genres: Middle Grade, Historical, Children's
Pages: 256
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
Goodreads
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

Best-selling author Ann Hood tells the story of a girl swept up in the heart of 1960s Beatlemania. Written in her signature prose, Hood weaves a tale of four misfit friends who set off to see the Beatles' final world tour, each harboring a secret hope. What emerges is a sincere and funny story of growing up, making unexpected connections, and following your dreams even as the world in front of you--and the world at large--is changing too fast.

The year is 1966. The Vietnam War rages overseas, the Beatles have catapulted into stardom, and twelve-year-old Rhode Island native Trudy Mixer is not thrilled with life. Her best friend, Michelle, has decided to become a cheerleader, everyone at school is now calling her Gertrude (her hated real name), and the gem of her middle school career, the Beatles fan club, has dwindled down to only three other members--the least popular kids at school. And at home, her workaholic father has become even more distant.

Determined to regain her social status and prove herself to her father, Trudy looks toward the biggest thing happening worldwide: the Beatles. She is set on seeing their final world tour in Boston at the end of the summer--and meeting her beloved Paul McCartney. So on a hot August day, unknown to their families, Trudy and crew set off on their journey, each of them with soaring hopes for what lies ahead.

My Favorite Beatle

There’s no doubt about it, I love The Beatles. I have ever since I was little. My parents grew up in the era of The Beatles and they passed down their love of the music to me. I’d say my top 3 Beatles songs would have to be: Here Comes The Sun, Hey Jude, and Blackbird. Which brings me to who my favorite Beatle is… George Harrison. Most people would automatically say John Lennon or Paul McCartney and while I love them.. George is my favorite. I think he became my favorite after I found out that he wrote Here Comes The Sun. And that song got me through some tough times. I suffered with depression during high school and for some reason Here Comes the Sun helped me out so much.

And then a few months after I turned 18, my dad died. He was suffering with his own demons and took his own life. And I went through some tough battles of dealing with the grief and again Here Comes the Sun shone a light in my life when it was at it’s darkest. And every time I hear Here Comes the Sun, I can’t help but think happy things and how even in your darkest moment there is a sun shining somewhere in your life. And I can’t be more grateful to have that song in my life and it’s all thanks to my boy George.

Here Comes The Sun

…for your listening pleasure <3

About the Author

Ann Hood is the author of the best-selling novels The Book That Matters MostThe Obituary WriterSomewhere Off the Coast of MaineThe Red Thread, and The Knitting Circle, as well as the memoir Comfort: A Journey Through Grief, which was a New York Times Editor’s Choice and chosen as one of the top ten nonfiction books of 2008 by Entertainment Weekly. She has won two Pushcart Prizes as well as a Best American Spiritual Writing Award, two Best American Food Writing Award, and a Best American Travel Writing award. A regular contributor to the New York Times, Hood’s short stories and essays have appeared in many publications, including PloughsharesTin HouseTravelerBon AppetitOMoreThe Wall Street JournalThe Washington PostThe Paris Review, and others. She is the editor of the anthologies Knitting Yarns: Writers Writing About KnittingKnitting Pearls: More Writers Writing About Knitting, and Providence Noir. Hood is also the author of books for children, including the middle-grade novel, How I Saved My Father (And Ruined Everything Else), and the ten-book Treasure Chest series for young readers. Her new memoir, Morningstar: Growing Up with Books, will be published in August. She lives in Providence, Rhode Island, and New York City, and is married to the writer Michael Ruhlman.

Tour Schedule

June 18 – BookHounds YA – Favorite Beatle and why

June 19 – In Wonderland – Favorite Beatle

June 20 – It’s Just About Write – Author Guest Post: If it starts with the Beatles, what makes boy bands and the stories they inspire still so popular today all these decades later?

June 21 – Dotters Daughters Picks – Author Q&A

June 25 – Ms. Yingling Reads – Review

June 26 – Sweet Things – Review + Creative

June 27 – Book Nerds Across America – Favorite Boy Band

Let’s talk about it!

Stephanie
Divider

Blog Tour: Dragons Love Tacos 2 [Review & Taco Salad Recipe]

Posted April 21, 2017 by Stephanie in Blog Tour, Giveaway, Recipe, Review / 5 Comments

Blog Tour: Dragons Love Tacos 2 [Review & Taco Salad Recipe]

Blog Tour: Dragons Love Tacos 2 [Review & Taco Salad Recipe]Dragons Love Tacos by Adam Rubin, Daniel Salmieri
Published by Dial Books on June 14th 2012
Genres: Picture Book
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover
Source: Publisher
Goodreads
five-stars
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

This scrumptious New York Times bestseller has a whole lot of kick!
Dragons love tacos. They love chicken tacos, beef tacos, great big tacos, and teeny tiny tacos. So if you want to lure a bunch of dragons to your party, you should definitely serve tacos. Buckets and buckets of tacos. Unfortunately, where there are tacos, there is also salsa. And if a dragon accidentally eats spicy salsa . . . oh, boy. You're in red-hot trouble.
The award-winning team behind Those Darn Squirrels! has created an unforgettable, laugh-until-salsa-comes-out-of-your-nose tale of new friends and the perfect snack.

My Thoughts

This book was so adorable! And it’s perfect for children! I absolutely loved this story and its illustrations! I love tacos and I love dragons and I’m sure most kids love those 2 as well! I cannot wait to read this to my little one!

Taco Salad Recipe

My family and I make tacos at least 3 times a month. And every time we do, I make mine into a taco salad!

What you need:
  • Tupperware Container
  • Taco Meat
  • Tomatoes
  • Shredded Lettuce
  • Shredded Cheese (I use a taco or mexican blend)
  • Nacho Cheese Doritos
  • Catalina Dressing
  • Anything else you like to put on your tacos!
Steps:
  1. Crunch up the Doritos and put them in your container
  2. On top of the crushed chips, put in your taco meat
  3. Then sprinkle on your cheese
  4. Add in your lettuce, tomatoes, and other taco toppings
  5. Drizzle on the Catalina Dressing (however much you like)
  6. Put the cover on the container and shake it all up!

And voila, there is your taco salad! Instead of using the dressing, I have used sour cream, but I personally prefer the tangy taste that Catalina provides the tacos 🙂

About the Author

ADAM RUBIN BIO:
Adam Rubin is the New York Times best-selling author of a half dozen critically-acclaimed picture books including Secret Pizza Party and Robo-Sauce. He spent ten years working as a creative director in the advertising industry before leaving his day job to write full time. Adam has a keen interest in improv comedy, camping and magic tricks.
DANIEL SALMIERI BIO:
Daniel Salmieri has illustrated many fantastic picture books, including the New York Times bestseller Robo-Sauce. He grew up in Brooklyn, New York, constantly drawing and painting images of ninja turtles, dinosaurs, and fighter jets (not in the same scene…), and graduated from the University of the Arts in Philadelphia. He lives in Brooklyn, New York.

Giveaway

Enter for a chance to win one (1) of five (5) Dragons Love Tacos Book and Toy Sets (ARV: $17.99 each).
NO PURCHASE NECESSARY. Enter between 12:00 AM Eastern Time on April 3, 2017 and 12:00 AM on May 1, 2017.  Open to residents of the fifty United States and the District of Columbia who are 13 and older. Winners will be selected at random on or about May 5, 2017. Odds of winning depend on number of eligible entries received. Void where prohibited or restricted by law.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tour Schedule

Week One:
April 3 – Pirates n’ Pixie Dust – Taco Scavenger Hunt
April 4 – Margie’s Must Reads – Review + Recipe
April 5 – A Story a Day – Review + Taco Craft
April 6 – The Book Shire – Review
April 7 – Swoony Boys Podcast – Recipe + Taco Craft
Week Two:
April 10 – Ali’s Book Nook – Review + Recipe
April 11 – Mundie Kids – Review + Taco Party Checklist
April 12 – The Children’s Book Review – When You Invite a Dragon to Dinner…
April 13 – Reading is Better with Cupcakes – A World Without Tacos?!
April 14 – My Bookbloom – Review + Taco Activity
Week Three:
April 17 – As They Grow Up – Review
April 18 – The Book Nut – Taco Soup Recipe
April 19YA Book Nerd – Missing Taco Hunt
April 20Inspiration Laboratories – Dragons Love Tacos Birthday Party
April 21In Wonderland – Review + Taco Salad Recipe
Week Four:
April 24A Homeschool Mom – Review + Chili Pepper Experiment
April 25The Plot Bunny – Review + Recipe
April 26No BS Book Reviews – Taco Craft
April 27My Little Poppies – Review
April 28Happily Ever Elephants – Review

How to make tacos that Dragons will love

Let’s talk about it!

five-stars
Stephanie
Divider
What Do You Do with an Idea? By Kobi Yamada [Review]

What Do You Do with an Idea? By Kobi Yamada [Review]

Posted September 29, 2016 by Emily in Review / 0 Comments

My Thoughts As an elementary school language arts teacher, I’m constantly reading children’s books, constantly scanning the children’s section at Barnes & Noble, and constantly looking for books that will hold my students’ interest while also passing on a valuable message. This book is it. Honestly, it’s amazing. I loved reading it, and my students […]

Divider