Genre: Paranormal

Blog Tour: The Hawkweed Legacy [Book Photography]

Posted August 23, 2017 by Stephanie in Blog Tour, Book Photography, Spotlight / 0 Comments

Blog Tour: The Hawkweed Legacy [Book Photography]

by Irena Brignull
Published by Weinstein Books Genres: Paranormal, Young Adult

Blog Tour: The Hawkweed Legacy [Book Photography]The Hawkweed Prophecy by Irena Brignull
Series: Hawkweed Prophecy #1
Published by Weinstein Books on September 6th 2016
Genres: Young Adult, Paranormal
Pages: 368
Goodreads
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

Poppy Hooper and Ember Hawkweed couldn't lead more different lives. Poppy is a troubled teen: moving from school to school, causing chaos wherever she goes, never making friends or lasting connections. Ember is a young witch, struggling to find a place within her coven and prove her worth. Both are outsiders: feeling like they don't belong and seeking escape.

Poppy and Ember soon become friends, and secretly share knowledge of their two worlds. Little do they know that destiny has brought them together: an ancient prophecy, and a life-changing betrayal. Growing closer, they begin to understand why they've never belonged and the reason they are now forever connected to each other.

Switched at birth by the scheming witch Raven Hawkweed, Poppy and Ember must come to terms with their true identities and fight for their own place in the world. Enter Leo, a homeless boy with a painful past who – befriending them both – tests their love and loyalty. Can Poppy and Ember's friendship survive? And can it withstand the dark forces that are gathering?

Blog Tour: The Hawkweed Legacy [Book Photography]The Hawkweed Legacy by Irena Brignull
Series: Hawkweed Prophecy #2
Published by Weinstein Books on August 15th 2017
Genres: Young Adult, Paranormal
Pages: 384
Goodreads
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

Poppy is discovering a purpose for her powers in Africa, but she is haunted by a vision of her own death. Taken in by a boy and his great-grandmother, a healer, they vow to keep her safe-even if that ultimately means holding her captive. But Poppy never stops longing for Leo and, when she feels his magic begin to spark, she will do anything to be reunited with him.

Desperate to regain Poppy's trust and bring her home, Charlock embarks on a plan to reunite Leo with his mother. What Charlock doesn't foresee are the string of consequences that she sets into motion that leave Ember all alone and prey to manipulation, the clan open to attack from other witches, Sorrel vulnerable to Raven's ghost, Betony determined to protect her son from his father's fate, and which leave both Leo and Poppy in terrible danger.

**I was supposed to have a review for you today, but I’m only partly through book 1 due to the major book slump I’ve been in since getting laid off from work. I promise to have a review of these books for you soon! But instead, I’ve done some book photography for you!**

Photography Shoot

About the Author

I’m Irena Brignull, a screenwriter, novelist and mum. I live with my family in London but I was brought up outside the city in the beautiful Chiltern Hills. The other place that has my heart is Greece where many of my relatives are from. 

My first novel, The Hawkweed Prophecy, was published in June 2016.  The sequel, The Hawkweed Legacy, was published in June 2017.

I write screenplays too. My screenwriting credits include the Oscar nominated movie, The Boxtrolls, starring Ben Kingsley, Elle Fanning and Simon Pegg. (I was nominated for Best Screenplay for that one at the Annie Awards in 2014.) My adaptation of The Little Prince, directed by Mark Osborne and starring Jeff Bridges, Rachel McAdams, James Franco and Marion Cotillard, closed the 2015 Cannes Film Festival. I also adapted Skelligfor Sky which starred Tim Roth, John Simm and Kelly MacDonald. 

Before all this, I was a Script Executive at the BBC and then Head of Development at Dogstar Films where I was the script editor on Shakespeare in Love, Captain Corelli’s MandolinI Capture the Castle and Bravo Two Zero to name a few.

And before that, I studied English Literature at Oxford University.

I don’t have much spare time but, in it, I like to read books and watch movies. It’s kind of my job, I know. But one day I plan to take up lots more hobbies – horse-riding, tap-dancing, baking, juggling…?

Author Links: Website ||  Twitter || Facebook

Tour Schedule

8/21: Two Chicks on Books – Q&A

8/22: Wandering Bark Books – Guest Post

8/23: In Wonderland – Review

8/24: A Binding Attraction – Top 10

8/25: Miranda’s Book Blog – Guest Post

8/26: Reading Is Better With Cupcakes – Review

8/27: The Irish Banana Review – Fast 5

8/28: books are love – Q&A

8/29: A Backwards Story – Review

8/30: Rants and Raves of a Bibliophile – Top 10

8/31: Live To Read – Review

9/1: Just Commonly – Review

9/2: Quartzfeather – Review

9/3: Lori’s Little House of Reviews – Review

9/4: Never Too Many To Read – Bookish Collage

Let’s talk about it!

Stephanie
Divider

The Dark Days Club [Review]

Posted January 30, 2017 by Stephanie in Review / 1 Comment

The Dark Days Club [Review]The Dark Days Club by Alison Goodman
Series: Lady Helen #1
Published by Viking Books for Young Readers on January 26th, 2016
Genres: Young Adult, Historical, Paranormal
Pages: 512
Format: Paperback
Source: Publisher
Goodreads
three-half-stars
Series Rating: four-stars
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

"Captivates with a mix of history and fantasy. [An] immersive, action-packed narrative. USA Today's Happy Ever After From theNew York Timesbestselling author of Eon and Eona;a Regency adventure series starring a stylish and intrepid Buffy-esque demon-hunter London, April 1812. On the eve of eighteen-year-old Lady Helen Wrexhall's presentation to the queen, one of her family's housemaids disappears-and Helen is drawn into the shadows of Regency London. There, she meets Lord Carlston, one of the few who can stop the perpetrators: a cabal of demons infiltrating every level of society. Dare she ask for his help, when his reputation is almost as black as his lingering eyes? And will her intelligence and headstrong curiosity wind up leading them into a death trap?"

My Thoughts

So for the most part I liked this book. I think my main issue with this was just the fact that I have been in such a book slumpy mood that it’s put a damper on not only the amount of books I’ve been reading but whether or not I enjoy them. It took me a little bit to get into this story. And I’m not sure if it’s because it’s a long book. (But I did just fine while listening to The Diviners) but it just felt like it was a long book. It wasn’t boring it was just long. I’m not sure if I’m making any sense. Like I said, it could be my slump that I’ve been in. I do however appreciate how real this felt. It really seems like Alison Goodman did her research on the time period, because I felt like I was there.

I also appreciated how Alison Goodman wrote. I think she did a great job with creating a world that felt real and taking people, places, and things from our actual history and creating paranormal and fantasy elements within that. She did a great job at creating characters and I can’t wait for more of them.

I think maybe I would have felt a little more connected to the book if the romance was a bit more on the forefront. I do love me some romance and I just felt that it was really lackluster in that department.

Other than that, I’m quite excited to finish off this series. Because I did enjoy it. And you should give it a shot too!

three-half-stars

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Stephanie
Divider
WoW [85]

WoW [85]

Posted November 23, 2016 by Lizzie in Meme / 1 Comment

Waiting on Wednesday (aka: WoW) is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine, spotlighting releases we are waiting for eagerly. This Week’s Victim Pick…. My Thoughts This book was pitched as Leigh Bardugo meets Sixth Sense, I’m dead. And that cover! I can already see the hype that will grow around this baby when […]

Divider
Sinner [Review]

Sinner [Review]

Posted November 23, 2016 by Emily in Review / 0 Comments

My Thoughts I’m such a sucker for Cole and Isabel. In all honesty, they’re probably my original OTP. So, imagine my surprise when I was scrolling through Instagram only to pass a fan art of the amazing pair. Naturally, the only way to handle that was to dig through my Kindle archive and reread Sinner. And, […]

Divider
Review: The Diviners

Review: The Diviners

Posted October 21, 2016 by Lizzie in Review / 2 Comments

Omigoodness this was a creepy one! I’ve had this book sitting on my TBR shelf for way too long, so in the spirit of Halloween I decided to pick it up. I totally didn’t think I would love it as much as I did! It takes place in 1920’s New York (are you sold yet?) […]

Divider
Review: This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab

Review: This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab

Posted October 13, 2016 by Lizzie in Review / 1 Comment

My Thoughts I am always in complete awe of Victoria Schwab. The first of her books that I read was A Darker Shade of Magic, and I should have known how amazing all of her work would keep being! As always, with books I love, this review will be short – AND I will do my […]

Divider
WoW [76]

WoW [76]

Posted September 21, 2016 by Lizzie in Meme / 0 Comments

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine, spotlighting releases we (or rather, in this case, Lizzie) are waiting for eagerly. This Week’s Victim Pick…. My Thoughts Did you look at that cover??? Omigoodness! Not only does any book about witches immediately suck me into reading, but this also sounds really […]

Divider