Genre: Sci-Fi

WoW [95]

Posted February 8, 2017 by Stephanie in Meme / 1 Comment

Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday (aka: WoW) is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine, spotlighting releases we are waiting for eagerly.

This Week’s Victim Pick….

WoW [95]Defy the Stars by Claudia Gray
Published by Little on April 4th 2017
Genres: Young Adult, Sci-Fi
Pages: 512
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository
Goodreads

Noemi Vidal is a teen soldier from the planet Genesis, once a colony of Earth that's now at war for its independence. The humans of Genesis have fought Earth's robotic "mech" armies for decades with no end in sight.
After a surprise attack, Noemi finds herself stranded in space on an abandoned ship where she meets Abel, the most sophisticated mech prototype ever made. One who should be her enemy. But Abel's programming forces him to obey Noemi as his commander, which means he has to help her save Genesis--even though her plan to win the war will kill him.
Together they embark on a daring voyage through the galaxy. Before long, Noemi begins to realize Abel may be more than a machine, and, for his part, Abel's devotion to Noemi is no longer just a matter of programming.

My Thoughts

Okay, first things first… LOOK AT THAT BEAUTIFUL COVER! I love that cover WAY more than the cover they had for it before! Second thing, this just sounds so amazing! And I honestly cannot wait to start reading this! I did get approved for it on Netgalley so, that should be happening soon!!! 😀

And now…over to you: what book are you waiting to release? Link me up and I’ll try my best to drop by! 🙂

Stephanie
Divider

Blog Tour: Empress of a Thousand Skies [Review & Giveaway]

Posted February 7, 2017 by Stephanie in Blog Tour, Giveaway, Review / 5 Comments

Blog Tour: Empress of a Thousand Skies [Review & Giveaway]

Blog Tour: Empress of a Thousand Skies [Review & Giveaway]Empress of a Thousand Skies by Rhoda Belleza
Series: Empress of a Thousand Skies #1
Published by Razorbill on February 7th 2017
Genres: Young Adult, Sci-Fi, Fantasy
Pages: 344
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository
Goodreads
three-half-stars

EmpressRhee, also known as Crown Princess Rhiannon Ta’an, is the sole surviving heir to a powerful dynasty. She’ll stop at nothing to avenge her family and claim her throne.
FugitiveAly has risen above his war refugee origins to find fame as the dashing star of a DroneVision show. But when he’s falsely accused of killing Rhee, he's forced to prove his innocence to save his reputation – and his life.
MadmanWith planets on the brink of war, Rhee and Aly are thrown together to confront a ruthless evil that threatens the fate of the entire galaxy.
A saga of vengeance, warfare, and the true meaning of legacy.

My Thoughts

Okay, so let’s get this out.. I really enjoyed this story! Were there problems? Sure. But all-in-all, I thought it was a great story. I liked the writing. I liked the characters. I thought that this was a good debut and I can only expect more from Rhoda in the future!

There were a couple issues, however. There are times where I can see some readers getting bored, but I feel like that there is enough action within the entirety of the story to keep someone entertained. It kept me entertained. The other issue I had was that there is one thing that you expect to happen from reading the summary.. and it just doesn’t happen. Now this could be because it is from the Advanced Reader Copy and not everything is finalized in the ARCs. Or it could have just been the wrong way to summarize the book. But the main reason why I rated it 3.5 stars was because this particular plotline just wasn’t there.

Other than that, I had a very enjoyable time reading this book and I loved the worldbuilding that Rhoda Belleza had created and I really wouldn’t mind seeing more within this world (and thank god there’s a second book to this)! If you love great worldbuilding, writing, and a strong Sci-fi presence, then I think you should give this one a try!

About the Author

Rhoda Belleza was raised in Los Angeles, where she grew up writing X-Files fanfiction and stuffing her face with avocados. She’s a children’s editor at a publishing house and writes from a sunny Brooklyn apartment stuffed with far too many bikes and far too many shoes. When she’s not writing, Rhoda obsesses over nail art tutorials, watches kung fu movies, and sews together crooked things that pass for clothes. Empress of a Thousand Skies is her debut novel. Follow her on Twitter @rhodabee.

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Enter for a chance to win one (1) of three (3) signed copies of Empress of a Thousand Skies by Rhoda Belleza (ARV: $17.99 each).
NO PURCHASE NECESSARY. Enter between 12:00 AM Eastern Time on February 6, 2017 and 12:00 AM on February 20, 2017.  Open to residents of the fifty United States and the District of Columbia who are 13 and older. Winners will be selected at random on or about February 22, 2017. Odds of winning depend on number of eligible entries received. Void where prohibited or restricted by law.

Tour Schedule

Week One:
2/6 – Brittany’s Book Rambles – Guest Post
2/6 – Bibliophile Gathering – Review
2/6 – Seeing Double in Neverland – Mood Board
2/7 – Tales of a Ravenous Reader – Excerpt
2/7 – In Wonderland – Review
2/8 – Across the Words – Character Fan Casting
2/8 – Novel Ink – Review
2/8 – Bookling Critics – Review
2/9 – The Young Folks – Interview
2/9 – Here’s to Happy Endings – Review
2/10 – Butter My Books – Book Look
2/10 – Ex Libris – Review
2/10 – My Friends Are Fiction – Guest Post
Week Two:
2/13 – Stories & Sweeties – Empress Cupcakes
2/13 – What Sarah Read – Guest Post
2/13 – MundieMoms – Review
2/14 – YA Wednesdays – Character Fashion
2/14 – Fiction Fare – Review
2/15 – Once Upon a Twilight – Favorite Quotes
2/15 – The Books Buzz – Review
2/15 – Take Me Away to a Great Read – Review
2/16 – The YA Book Traveler – Empress Trailer
2/16 – Bookworm Everlasting – Review
2/17 – The Forest of Words and Pages – Like/Try/Why
2/17 – The Paige Turner – Interview
2/17 – Fangirlish – Review

Let’s talk about it!

Did you read Empress of a Thousand Skies? Do you want to? What draws you into wanting to read this? Or what doesn’t?

three-half-stars

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Stephanie
Divider
WoW [93]

WoW [93]

Posted January 25, 2017 by Lizzie in Meme / 2 Comments

Waiting on Wednesday (aka: WoW) is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine, spotlighting releases we are waiting for eagerly. This Week’s Victim Pick…. My Thoughts The moment I read “video games” I literally clicked to add this book to my Goodreads shelf. There are not nearly enough video game inspired novels with a […]

Divider
The Rift Uprising [Review and Giveaway]

The Rift Uprising [Review and Giveaway]

Posted December 1, 2016 by Lizzie in Giveaway, Review / 1 Comment

My Thoughts For some reason, I can never figure out how to best start a review! I guess I will start with my overall feeling after finishing this guy: I liked it, it was fast passed and I read it in one sitting! Very movie-esque, I could picture the Rift and the setting SO well. […]

Divider
Starflight [Review]

Starflight [Review]

Posted November 28, 2016 by Emily in Review / 0 Comments

My Thoughts Space themes are always tricky for me. I either love them, or I can’t stand them. I either have a desperate need to read the book or watch the movie, or I just sit there thinking, “Meh.” Starflight fell into the former. It‘s a book that initially drew me in by the cover…and held me […]

Divider
Blog Tour: The Turncoat’s Gambit [Book Look & Giveaway]

Blog Tour: The Turncoat’s Gambit [Book Look & Giveaway]

Posted November 14, 2016 by Stephanie in Blog Tour, Book Looks, Giveaway / 2 Comments

The Book Look The Turncoat’s Gambit Book Look by inwonderland49 featuring silver home decor About the Author Andrea Cremer is the author of the internationally bestselling Nightshade series. She spent her childhood daydreaming and roaming the forests and lakeshores of Northern Wisconsin. Andrea has always loved writing and has never stopped writing, but she only […]

Divider
Gemina [Review]

Gemina [Review]

Posted November 12, 2016 by Stephanie in Review / 3 Comments

My Thoughts *I will try to keep this review as spoiler free as I possibly can. If I have a spoiler, it will be hidden and you can read it if you want.* Holy crap you guys! I wasn’t sure where they were going to take Gemina, especially since I knew it was going to […]

Divider