Genre: Steampunk

Blog Tour: The Turncoat’s Gambit [Book Look & Giveaway]

Posted November 14, 2016 by Stephanie in Blog Tour, Book Looks, Giveaway / 2 Comments

Blog Tour: The Turncoat’s Gambit [Book Look & Giveaway]

Blog Tour: The Turncoat’s Gambit [Book Look & Giveaway]The Turncoat's Gambit by Andrea Cremer
Series: The Inventor's Secret #3
Published by Philomel Books on November 15th 2016
Genres: Young Adult, Historical, Steampunk, Sci-Fi
Pages: 352
Goodreads
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

What if America had lost the Revolutionary War? And now lived in constant fear and oppression? From the bestselling author of Nightshade, this is the action-packed final chapter of The Inventor's Secret trilogy
Charlotte has spent her whole life fighting the British Empire, following in the footsteps of her parents and their group of rebels. But when her reunion with her mother laid bare horrible truths about the rebellion, Charlotte knew she had to escape. Now she is on the run, with no idea who the enemy is--or which of her compatriots is truly on her side.
In this action-packed conclusion to the Inventor's Secret trilogy, full of swashbuckling pirates and young ladies who can hold their own against them, Charlotte will need to fight for her life and for her beliefs -- whatever they might be.  Praise for The Conjurer's Riddle:
"This is classic steampunk [with] exotic and picturesque locales, lots of interesting machinery, and the adrenaline rush of following the adventures of an honest and fearless heroine. A suitably swashbuckling sequel."--Kirkus Reviews
Praise for The Inventor's Secret:
* "Cremer...creates an inventive blend of steampunk and alternative history in this new series. She gives readers a fantastical world with mechanical wonders and an opulent vintage setting. The characters are interesting and well developed. Readers will be drawn to future installments."--VOYA, starred review
"[A]n entertaining romp in a richly imaginative setting."--Kirkus Reviews

The Book Look

The Turncoat's Gambit Book Look

About the Authorseriouscolorsw

Andrea Cremer is the author of the internationally bestselling Nightshade series. She spent her childhood daydreaming and roaming the forests and lakeshores of Northern Wisconsin.

Andrea has always loved writing and has never stopped writing, but she only recently plunged into the deep end of the pool that is professional writing. Before she wrote her first novel, Andrea was a history professor at Macalester College in St. Paul, Minnesota. In her books, she strives to bring together her two passions: history and fantasy. Andrea now lives in New York and writes full time.

Author Links: Website || Twitter || Goodreads || Facebook || Instagram || Pinterest

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Enter for a chance to win one of five (5) hardcover copies of The Turncoat’s Gambit by Andrea Cremer (ARV= $18.99 each).

NO PURCHASE NECESSARY. Enter between 9:00 AM Eastern Time on November 14, 2016 and 11:59 PM Eastern Time on November 25, 2017.  Open to residents of the fifty United States and the District of Columbia who are 13 and older. Winners will be selected at random on or about November 28, 2016. Odds of winning depend on number of eligible entries received. Void where prohibited or restricted by law.

Tour Schedule

11/14: In Wonderland (Book Look)
11/15: Two Chicks on Books (Interview)
11/17: Seeing Double in Neverland (Mood Board)
11/18: Book Briefs (Guest Post)
11/21: The Fandom (Book Playlist)
11/22: The Moral of Stories (Review)
11/23: Buttermybooks (Review)
11/24: Take Me Away to a Great Read (Favorite Quotes)
11/25: YA Book Central (Guest Post)
Stephanie
Divider

Nefertiti’s Heart [Review]

Posted June 17, 2016 by Stephanie in Review / 2 Comments

Nefertiti’s Heart [Review]Nefertiti's Heart by A.W. Exley
Series: Artifact Hunters #1
Published by Curiosity Quills Press on February 14th 2013
Genres: Adult, Steampunk, Historical, Mystery, Romance
Pages: 286
Format: eBook, Audiobook
Source: Purchased
Goodreads
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

This is an alternate cover edition for ASIN: B00BFTMRBA
Cara Devon has always suffered curiosity and impetuousness, but tangling with a serial killer might cure that. Permanently.
1861. Cara has a simple mission in London – finalise her father’s estate and sell off his damned collection of priceless artifacts. Her plan goes awry when a killer stalks the nobility, searching for an ancient Egyptian relic rumoured to hold the key to immortality.
Nathaniel Trent, known as the villainous viscount, is relentless in his desire to lay his hands on both Cara and the priceless artifacts. His icy exterior and fiery touch stirs Cara’s demons, or could he lay them to rest?
Self-preservation fuels Cara’s search for the gem known as Nefertiti’s Heart. In a society where everyone wears a mask to hide their true intent, she needs to figure out who to trust, before she sacrifices her own heart and life.

My Thoughts

I really enjoyed this book! I was a little hesitant to pick it up for reasons I will never understand but I am so glad I did because I thoroughly enjoyed this and am really itching to get to the rest of this series!

Things that I really enjoyed:

  1. All of the Egyptian-ness within it! It was great to hear about some of these artifacts and the Egyptian elements were wonderful!
  2. I really loved the mystery that went with this. It wasn’t just a steampunk book. But it was a steampunk book that had murders in it and it was really fun to read about the mystery behind the murders.
  3. I really loved Cara as a character. She was independent. Though, the reason why she was so independent is sad and at times hard to read, but it was written well.
  4. I loved the romance between Cara and Nate. I really liked them as a duo!

If you’re in the mood for a great steampunk with murders, romance, and Egyptian elements, then pick this one up! I really enjoyed it! 🙂

four-stars
Stephanie
Divider
Clockwork Prince [Review]

Clockwork Prince [Review]

Posted March 26, 2016 by Stephanie in Review / 2 Comments

My Thoughts I am really loving The Infernal Devices more than I loved The Mortal Instruments (and yes, I know I still have to read the last 3 books in The Mortal Instruments and I will soon because I really want to read Lady Midnight!) But, goodness, I am in love with The Infernal Devices. […]

Divider
Clockwork Angel [Review]

Clockwork Angel [Review]

Posted February 3, 2016 by Stephanie in Review / 2 Comments

Title: Clockwork Angel Author: Cassandra Clare Series: The Infernal Devices #1 Genre: Young Adult, Steampunk, Fantasy, Paranormal, Historical Pages: 479 Published By: Simon & Schuster on August 31, 2010 Challenges: 2016 TBR Pile, 2016 Steampunk Reading Challenge, 2016 Flights of Fantasy Where To Get:     In a time when Shadowhunters are barely winning the fight against the forces of darkness, one […]

Divider
Revenge and the Wild [Review]

Revenge and the Wild [Review]

Posted January 10, 2016 by Maria in Review / 0 Comments

Title: Revenge and the Wild Author: Michelle Modesto Series: Standalone Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Western Pages: 384 Published By: Balzer + Bray on February 2, 2016 Where To Get:   The two-bit town of Rogue City is a lawless place, full of dark magic and saloon brawls, monsters and six-shooters. But it’s perfect for seventeen-year-old […]

Divider