Publisher: Balzer + Bray

WoW [102]

Posted March 29, 2017 by Lizzie in Meme / 1 Comment

Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday (aka: WoW) is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine, spotlighting releases we are waiting for eagerly.

This Week’s Victim Pick….

WoW [102]The Glass Spare by Lauren DeStefano
Series: The Glass Spare #1
Published by Balzer + Bray on October 24th 2017
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy
Pages: 336
Goodreads
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

A banished princess.A deadly curse.A kingdom at war.
Wil Heidle, the only daughter of the king of the world’s wealthiest nation, has grown up in the shadows. Kept hidden from the world in order to serve as a spy for her father—whose obsession with building his empire is causing a war—Wil wants nothing more than to explore the world beyond her kingdom, if only her father would give her the chance.
Until one night Wil is attacked, and she discovers a dangerous secret. Her touch turns people into gemstone. At first Wil is horrified—but as she tests its limits, she’s drawn more and more to the strange and volatile ability. When it leads to tragedy, Wil is forced to face the destructive power within her and finally leave her home to seek the truth and a cure.
But finding the key to her redemption puts her in the path of a cursed prince who has his own ideas for what to do with her power.
With a world on the brink of war and a power of ultimate destruction, can Wil find a way to help the kingdom that’s turned its back on her, or will she betray her past and her family forever?

My Thoughts

Holy moly, she’s done it again! DeStefano’s debut series was one of my favorites for years. Its first book, Wither, I reread almost every year. Suffice to say, this is definitely going to be an insta-buy for me. Especially around Halloween, any kind of spooky bad-ass-girl-spy and cursed prince combo is something that my body is entirely ready for. GIMME GIMME!

And now…over to you: what book are you waiting to release? Link me up and I’ll try my best to drop by! 🙂

Lizzie
Divider

WoW [98]

Posted March 1, 2017 by Lizzie in Meme / 0 Comments

Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday (aka: WoW) is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine, spotlighting releases we are waiting for eagerly.

This Week’s Victim Pick….

WoW [98]Even the Darkest Stars by Heather Fawcett
Published by Balzer + Bray on September 5, 2017
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy
Pages: 304
Goodreads
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

Set in a fictional Himalayan kingdom, this is the story of a girl enlisted by a legendary explorer to help him climb the kingdom’s deadliest mountain – only to discover that his true mission may threaten her whole world.

Kamzin has always dreamed of becoming one of the emperor’s royal explorers, the elite climbers tasked with mapping the wintry, mountainous Empire and spying on its enemies. She knows she could be the best in the world, if only someone would give her a chance.

But everything changes when the mysterious and eccentric River Shara, the greatest explorer every known, arrives in her village and demands to hire Kamzin—not her older sister, Lusha, as everyone had expected—for his next expedition. This is Kamzin’s chance to prove herself—even though River’s mission to retrieve a rare talisman for the emperor means cimbing Raksha, the tallest and deadliest mountain in the Aryas. Then, Lusha sets off on her own mission to Raksha with a rival explorer, and Kamzin must decide what’s most important to her: protecting her sister from the countless perils of the climb or beating her to the summit.

The challenges of climbing Raksha are unlike anything Kamzin expected—or prepared for—with avalanches, ice chasms, ghosts, and other dangers at every turn. And as dark secrets are revealed, Kamzin must unravel the truth about their mission and her companions—while surviving the deadliest climb she has ever faced.

My Thoughts

A moment of silence for my eyes and that cover. SO PRETTY. I love fantasy. I also love to run, little fun fact about me there! Hiking, hill repeats across my local mountains – gimme all the endorphins. THIS BOOK sounds like my endorphins personified. First off, Himalayan Kingdom? So cool, so new, so imaginative. For some reason reading this synopsis immediately had me thinking of the Lion King, and any rendition of the Lion King with a bad-ass female heroine and I’m all for it. Go add this pick to your shelves! Show this debut author how much we appreciate her wicked world building.

And now…over to you: what book are you waiting to release? Link me up and I’ll try my best to drop by! 🙂

Lizzie
Divider
The Luck of the Bookish (Emily)

The Luck of the Bookish (Emily)

Posted March 15, 2016 by Emily in Blog Tour, Event / 2 Comments

In the spirit of St. Patrick’s day, the girls and I thought it would be fun to put on a little mini-series of posts. Basically, we are here to answer one very pressing question: if you knew that the Leprechaun at the end of the rainbow was holding one book: ARC, published, special edition, signed, […]

Divider
Revenge and the Wild [Review]

Revenge and the Wild [Review]

Posted January 10, 2016 by Maria in Review / 0 Comments

Title: Revenge and the Wild Author: Michelle Modesto Series: Standalone Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Western Pages: 384 Published By: Balzer + Bray on February 2, 2016 Where To Get:   The two-bit town of Rogue City is a lawless place, full of dark magic and saloon brawls, monsters and six-shooters. But it’s perfect for seventeen-year-old […]

Divider
Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda [Review]

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda [Review]

Posted October 5, 2015 by Stephanie in Review / 0 Comments

Click Here To Join The Book Club! Why is straight the default? Everyone should have to declare one way or another, and it shouldn’t be this big awkward thing whether you’re straight, gay, bi, or whatever. I’m just saying. But I’m tired of coming out. All I ever do is come out. I try not […]

Divider
How to Love [Review]

How to Love [Review]

Posted May 14, 2015 by Stephanie in Review / 1 Comment

It occurs to me, not for the first time, that things change whether you’re around to notice them or not. Nothing about you, my dear, has ever been lost on me. I hate myself for letting him know that I still think about him, that I carry him around inside my skin. “I love you, […]

Divider