Publisher: Dial Books

Blog Tour: Things I’m Seeing Without You [Beyond the Pages & Giveaway]

Posted October 10, 2017 by Stephanie in #PRHPartner, Beyond the Pages, Blog Tour, Giveaway / 1 Comment

Blog Tour: Things I’m Seeing Without You [Beyond the Pages & Giveaway]

Blog Tour: Things I’m Seeing Without You [Beyond the Pages & Giveaway]Things I'm Seeing Without You by Peter Bognanni
Published by Dial Books on October 3rd 2017
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary
Pages: 336
Goodreads
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

Seventeen-year-old Tess Fowler has just dropped out of high school. She can barely function after learning of Jonah’s death. Jonah, the boy she’d traded banter with over texts and heartfelt e-mails.

Jonah, the first boy she'd told she loved and the first boy to say it back.

Jonah, the boy whose suicide she never saw coming.

Tess continues to write to Jonah, as a way of processing her grief and confusion. But for now she finds solace in perhaps the unlikeliest of ways: by helping her father with his new alternative funeral business, where his biggest client is . . . a prized racehorse?

As Tess’s involvement in her father’s business grows, both find comfort in the clients they serve and in each other. But love, loss, and life are so much more complicated than Tess ever thought. Especially after she receives a message that turns her life upside down.

Beyond the Pages

So, for my post for this blog tour I am doing a Beyond the Pages kind of post. In Things I’m Seeing Without You, the main character Tess deals with the loss of her boyfriend, Jonah, to suicide. I decided to do a Beyond the Pages because I relate to Tess. Tess never saw the suicide coming. And a lot of people can say, how can you not? Well the thing is, people are really good at hiding depression. I know because when I was 18 I lost my father to suicide and I NEVER saw it coming. I didn’t know he was depressed. My entire family didn’t know he was depressed. Tess decides to continue writing to Jonah even though he’s gone. And I would say that a lot of people who lose a loved one to suicide do the same thing in one way or another. I had a voicemail saved in my inbox that I continued to listen to over and over again and if I didn’t have a different phone, I’d still have it. I also looked at all of my dad’s emails constantly and I’d write back but never hit send. For about 5 years every single story that I started to write dealt with a girl who lost her father. It was the way I grieved. And even though it has been 9 years, it still feels like it was yesterday.

I’m really intrigued to get to this book on my list. I’ve been in a huge book slump for the past year. I mean I’ve only read like 19 or 20 books ALL year and that is just not me. I was hoping to get to 100 this year. I’m hoping to knock out a bunch of books in the next couple months.

About the Author

Peter Bognanni is a graduate of the Iowa Writers’ Workshop. His debut novel, The House of Tomorrow, won the LA Times award for first fiction and the ALA Alex Award and has been adapted into a feature film.  He teaches creative writing at Macalester College in Saint Paul, Minnesota.

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Enter for a chance to be one (1) of three (3) winners to receive a hardcover copy of Things I’m Seeing Without You by Peter Bognanni. (ARV: $17.99 each).

NO PURCHASE NECESSARY. Enter between 12:00 AM Eastern Time on September 25, 2017 and 12:00 AM on October 16, 2017. Open to residents of the fifty United States and the District of Columbia who are 13 and older. Winners will be selected at random on or about October 18, 2017. Odds of winning depend on number of eligible entries received. Void where prohibited or restricted by law.

Tour Schedule

Week One:
September 25 – Arctic Books – Author Q&A
September 26 – Fiktshun – Review
September 27 – Adventures of a Book Junkie – Reasons to Read TISWY
September 28 – Here’s to Happy Endings – Author Guest Post
September 29 – BookCrushin – Review
 
Week Two:
October 2 – The Young Folks – Author Q&A
October 3 – Dazzled by Books – Review
October 4 – In Wonderland – Beyond the Pages
October 5 – YA and Wine – Review & Mood Board
October 6 – Fiction Fare – Author Guest Post
 
Week Three:
October 9 – Rants & Raves of a Bibliophile – Review & Favorite Quotes
October 10 – Margie’s Must Reads – Author Guest Post
October 11 – Tales of the Ravenous Reader – Author Q&A
October 12 – Once Upon a Twilight – Guess the Story in GIFs
October 13 – Twinning for Books

Let’s talk about it!

Stephanie
Divider

Blog Tour: Dragons Love Tacos 2 [Review & Taco Salad Recipe]

Posted April 21, 2017 by Stephanie in Blog Tour, Giveaway, Recipe, Review / 5 Comments

Blog Tour: Dragons Love Tacos 2 [Review & Taco Salad Recipe]

Blog Tour: Dragons Love Tacos 2 [Review & Taco Salad Recipe]Dragons Love Tacos by Adam Rubin, Daniel Salmieri
Published by Dial Books on June 14th 2012
Genres: Picture Book
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover
Source: Publisher
Goodreads
five-stars
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

This scrumptious New York Times bestseller has a whole lot of kick!
Dragons love tacos. They love chicken tacos, beef tacos, great big tacos, and teeny tiny tacos. So if you want to lure a bunch of dragons to your party, you should definitely serve tacos. Buckets and buckets of tacos. Unfortunately, where there are tacos, there is also salsa. And if a dragon accidentally eats spicy salsa . . . oh, boy. You're in red-hot trouble.
The award-winning team behind Those Darn Squirrels! has created an unforgettable, laugh-until-salsa-comes-out-of-your-nose tale of new friends and the perfect snack.

My Thoughts

This book was so adorable! And it’s perfect for children! I absolutely loved this story and its illustrations! I love tacos and I love dragons and I’m sure most kids love those 2 as well! I cannot wait to read this to my little one!

Taco Salad Recipe

My family and I make tacos at least 3 times a month. And every time we do, I make mine into a taco salad!

What you need:
  • Tupperware Container
  • Taco Meat
  • Tomatoes
  • Shredded Lettuce
  • Shredded Cheese (I use a taco or mexican blend)
  • Nacho Cheese Doritos
  • Catalina Dressing
  • Anything else you like to put on your tacos!
Steps:
  1. Crunch up the Doritos and put them in your container
  2. On top of the crushed chips, put in your taco meat
  3. Then sprinkle on your cheese
  4. Add in your lettuce, tomatoes, and other taco toppings
  5. Drizzle on the Catalina Dressing (however much you like)
  6. Put the cover on the container and shake it all up!

And voila, there is your taco salad! Instead of using the dressing, I have used sour cream, but I personally prefer the tangy taste that Catalina provides the tacos 🙂

About the Author

ADAM RUBIN BIO:
Adam Rubin is the New York Times best-selling author of a half dozen critically-acclaimed picture books including Secret Pizza Party and Robo-Sauce. He spent ten years working as a creative director in the advertising industry before leaving his day job to write full time. Adam has a keen interest in improv comedy, camping and magic tricks.
DANIEL SALMIERI BIO:
Daniel Salmieri has illustrated many fantastic picture books, including the New York Times bestseller Robo-Sauce. He grew up in Brooklyn, New York, constantly drawing and painting images of ninja turtles, dinosaurs, and fighter jets (not in the same scene…), and graduated from the University of the Arts in Philadelphia. He lives in Brooklyn, New York.

Giveaway

Enter for a chance to win one (1) of five (5) Dragons Love Tacos Book and Toy Sets (ARV: $17.99 each).
NO PURCHASE NECESSARY. Enter between 12:00 AM Eastern Time on April 3, 2017 and 12:00 AM on May 1, 2017.  Open to residents of the fifty United States and the District of Columbia who are 13 and older. Winners will be selected at random on or about May 5, 2017. Odds of winning depend on number of eligible entries received. Void where prohibited or restricted by law.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tour Schedule

Week One:
April 3 – Pirates n’ Pixie Dust – Taco Scavenger Hunt
April 4 – Margie’s Must Reads – Review + Recipe
April 5 – A Story a Day – Review + Taco Craft
April 6 – The Book Shire – Review
April 7 – Swoony Boys Podcast – Recipe + Taco Craft
Week Two:
April 10 – Ali’s Book Nook – Review + Recipe
April 11 – Mundie Kids – Review + Taco Party Checklist
April 12 – The Children’s Book Review – When You Invite a Dragon to Dinner…
April 13 – Reading is Better with Cupcakes – A World Without Tacos?!
April 14 – My Bookbloom – Review + Taco Activity
Week Three:
April 17 – As They Grow Up – Review
April 18 – The Book Nut – Taco Soup Recipe
April 19YA Book Nerd – Missing Taco Hunt
April 20Inspiration Laboratories – Dragons Love Tacos Birthday Party
April 21In Wonderland – Review + Taco Salad Recipe
Week Four:
April 24A Homeschool Mom – Review + Chili Pepper Experiment
April 25The Plot Bunny – Review + Recipe
April 26No BS Book Reviews – Taco Craft
April 27My Little Poppies – Review
April 28Happily Ever Elephants – Review

How to make tacos that Dragons will love

Let’s talk about it!

five-stars
Stephanie
Divider
Wink Poppy Midnight [Review]

Wink Poppy Midnight [Review]

Posted August 28, 2016 by Stephanie in Review / 0 Comments

My Thoughts Okay this is one book that is going to be super hard to review. Not because it’s confusing. But because I don’t want to give anything away. This is a story told in 3 perspectives. Wink, is a weird redheaded girl, who comes from a strange family. Poppy, a gorgeous blonde who is […]

Divider