Publisher: Harper Teen

By Your Side [Review]

Posted July 18, 2017 by Stephanie in Review / 0 Comments

By Your Side [Review]By Your Side by Kasie West
Published by Harper Teen on January 31st 2017
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 346
Format: Hardcover
Source: Purchased, Uppercase Box
Goodreads
four-half-stars
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

In this irresistible story, Kasie West explores the timeless question of what to do when you fall for the person you least expect. Witty and romantic, this paperback original from a fan favorite is perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins and Morgan Matson.

When Autumn Collins finds herself accidentally locked in the library for an entire weekend, she doesn’t think things could get any worse. But that’s before she realizes that Dax Miller is locked in with her. Autumn doesn’t know much about Dax except that he’s trouble. Between the rumors about the fight he was in (and that brief stint in juvie that followed it) and his reputation as a loner, he’s not exactly the ideal person to be stuck with. Still, she just keeps reminding herself that it is only a matter of time before Jeff, her almost-boyfriend, realizes he left her in the library and comes to rescue her.

Only he doesn’t come. No one does.

Instead it becomes clear that Autumn is going to have to spend the next couple of days living off vending-machine food and making conversation with a boy who clearly wants nothing to do with her. Except there is more to Dax than meets the eye. As he and Autumn first grudgingly, and then not so grudgingly, open up to each other, Autumn is struck by their surprising connection. But can their feelings for each other survive once the weekend is over and Autumn’s old life, and old love interest, threaten to pull her from Dax’s side?

My Thoughts

This book was adorable! Kasie West has definitely climbed up to an author I autobuy. I am absolutely in love with her writing and her stories. Every book of hers that I read is always a quick and fun read for me and they help me get out of some reading slumps!

This book of hers is no exception. I was completely engrossed with the story and loved the idea of being locked in a library for a weekend! Autumn, the main character, winds up being locked in the library for a weekend with Dax, the troublemaker. I loved the relationship that grows between Autumn and Dax. And I really loved the fact that it was a hate to love romance. Those are some of my favorite romances!

What really bothered me and what I have noticed in the few Kasie West books that I have read is that I usually hate the friends the main character has. I wish there were better friendships in her books which is ultimately why I rated this at a 4.5 star read. Like, for the first half of the book I kept questioning myself as to why she was friends with these people. Granted, later on in the book it made sense (mostly) as to why they never came back for her at the library. But even at the same time, I still questioned why she was friends with them.

All-in-all though, I thought this was a great story and honestly, you should read it for the whole being locked in a library aspect alone! 😀

Let’s talk about it!

Have you read this Kasie West book? How do you feel about the friendships within her books?

 

four-half-stars

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Stephanie
Divider

Blog Tour: Spindle Fire [Guest Post & Giveaway]

Posted April 7, 2017 by Stephanie in Blog Tour, Giveaway, Guest Post / 7 Comments

Blog Tour: Spindle Fire [Guest Post & Giveaway]Spindle Fire by Lexa Hillyer
Series: Spindle Fire #1
Published by Harper Teen on April 11 2017
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Retelling
Goodreads
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

Half sisters Isabelle and Aurora are polar opposites: Isabelle is the king's headstrong illegitimate daughter, whose sight was tithed by faeries; Aurora, beautiful and sheltered, was tithed her sense of touch and her voice on the same day. Despite their differences, the sisters have always been extremely close.
And then everything changes, with a single drop of Aurora's blood--and a sleep so deep it cannot be broken.
As the faerie queen and her army of Vultures prepare to march, Isabelle must race to find a prince who can awaken her sister with the kiss of true love and seal their two kingdoms in an alliance against the queen.
Isabelle crosses land and sea; unearthly, thorny vines rise up the palace walls; and whispers of revolt travel in the ashes on the wind. The kingdom falls to ruin under layers of snow. Meanwhile, Aurora wakes up in a strange and enchanted world, where a mysterious hunter may be the secret to her escape . . . or the reason for her to stay.
Spindle Fire is the first book in a duology.

Guest Post

I learned so many interesting things while researching for Spindle Fire! I based the world loosely on France in the early 1300’s, but layered in the rules and history of the faerie world. One of the things I had suspected was that in the early fourteenth century, western Europe did not have spinning wheels! They only used drop spindles (which—fun fact—I’ve actually used before. We had a class in middle school devoted to hand-spinning, dyeing and weaving wool! You have to spin this thing that looks like a top, while literally letting it drop to the floor, with chunks of wool wrapped around the base. The gravity and the spinning pull on the wool and stretch it into yarn, basically. My yarn was always terrible and chunky, though.) Anyway, there were spinning wheels in China for literally hundreds of years prior. The spinning wheel in my book is enchanted and it is something Malfleur and Belcoeur’s parents procured in their world travels. I also had to look up the names of all the different rooms and buildings in medieval convents and castles, and I constantly had blueprints up on my computer while trying to choreograph scenes. I discovered that whale hunting was a huge industry in that time, and also that narwhals in particular were coveted for their tusks, partly because so many people believed in the legends of the unicorns and could be suckered into purchasing the tusks thinking they were unicorn horns. For the sequel, I read about battle strategies, and medieval glass-making, and open-pit sapphire mines (even though the latter ended up getting cut from the draft!) I learned how to light a flint via a Youtube video. I also read about plague masks and hunting rituals and I read a number of essays on how to write action sequences featuring blind narrators—it was important to me to do justice to that and to make a distinction between Isabelle’s often stubborn desire to throw herself into dangerous situations and, on the other hand, the reasonable limitations she would experience. I never wanted her blindness to feel like a gimmick, but a trait that she lives with, sometimes grappling with it but mostly accepting it as part of the fabric of her existence and how she experiences the world. The Binks chapter was a lot of fun. I learned that gambling and card-playing were so rampant that a tax was placed on all card decks and you could be fined for using an illegal deck. I took some liberties with the idea of Romances—back then, the great works of “romance” were stories of heroism and war. The term didn’t really mean what it means today, but even still, there were tales of love woven through and I imagined that those are what Aurora latches onto when she teaches herself to read. That’s another thing I wanted to make very clear—how unusual it would have been for a woman (or anyone) to be able to read at all! They mostly didn’t have paper (that was just coming into circulation although like so many inventions, it had existed for hundreds of years already in the east). And of course they wrote with quills you had to dip into ink pots, so it’s not like writing was particularly convenient or common, either. Aurora’s life would have been a whole lot easier if she could have just jotted down notes for people to read!

About the Author

Lexa Hillyer is the co-founder of Paper Lantern Lit, former YA editor, and author of Proof of Forever. Lexa is also an award-winning poet: Her first collection, Acquainted with the Cold, won the Melissa Lanitis Gregory Poetry Prize as well as the 2012 Book of the Year Award from ForeWord Reviews. Her poetry has been anthologized in Best New Poets 2012, and has appeared in several journals. She lives in Brooklyn with her husband and their daughter.

LINKS: Website | Twitter Instagram

Giveaway

3 Finished Copies of SPINDLE FIRE (US Only)
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tour Schedule

Week 1:

4/3: Lost In Lit – Bookish Inspirations

4/4: Ex Libris – Review

4/5: The Irish Banana Review – Makeup Inspirations

4/6: Reads All the Books – Review

4/7: In Wonderland – Guest Post

Week 2:

4/10: Book Scents – Review

4/11: The Fake Steph – Q&A

4/12: Swoony Boys Podcast – Review

4/13: The Bookkeeper’s Secret – Mood Board

4/14: The Story Sanctuary – Review

Let’s talk about it!

Stephanie
Divider
Blog Tour: Thicker Than Water [Review & Giveaway]

Blog Tour: Thicker Than Water [Review & Giveaway]

Posted December 31, 2015 by Stephanie in Giveaway, Review / 0 Comments

Title: Thicker Than Water Author: Kelly Fiore Series: Standalone Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Mystery, Thriller Pages: 320 Published By: HarperTeen on January 5, 2016 Challenges: Blog Tour for Rockstar Book Tours Where To Get:   **I received an eARC of this book in exchange for an honest review for this blog tour. This in no way affects my opinions**  Cecelia Price […]

Divider
Mini Reviews [4] (SiW August Edition)

Mini Reviews [4] (SiW August Edition)

Posted October 5, 2015 by Stephanie in Review / 0 Comments

So, there have been some books that I have read in the past year or so that I just forgot to write a review for. There are also others that I either DNF’d or just don’t have enough to say for a full size review. So, for those books I will be putting them into […]

Divider