Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)

WoW [116]

Posted October 25, 2017 by Stephanie in Meme / 3 Comments

Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday (aka: WoW) is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine, spotlighting releases we are waiting for eagerly.

This Week’s Victim Pick….

WoW [116]Foolish Hearts by Emma Mills
Published by Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) on December 5th 2017
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary
Pages: 320
Goodreads
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

A contemporary novel about a girl whose high school production of A Midsummer Night's Dream leads her to new friends—and maybe even new love.

The day of the last party of the summer, Claudia overhears a conversation she wasn't supposed to. Now on the wrong side of one of the meanest girls in school, Claudia doesn't know what to expect when the two are paired up to write a paper—let alone when they're both forced to try out for the school production of A Midsummer Night's Dream.

But mandatory participation has its upsides—namely, an unexpected friendship, a boy band obsession, and a guy with the best dimpled smile Claudia's ever seen. As Claudia's world starts to expand, she finds that maybe there are some things worth sticking her neck out for.

My Thoughts

I feel like this one could be a really great friendship or enemies to friends kind of book! And I am kind of really liking the idea of that!

And now…over to you: what book are you waiting to release? Link me up and I’ll try my best to drop by! 🙂

Stephanie
Divider

Blog Tour: Flashfall [Review, Fave Quotes, & Giveaway]

Posted November 15, 2016 by Stephanie in Blog Tour, Fave Quotes, Giveaway, Review / 1 Comment

Blog Tour: Flashfall [Review, Fave Quotes, & Giveaway]

Blog Tour: Flashfall [Review, Fave Quotes, & Giveaway]Flashfall by Jenny Moyer
Series: Flashfall #1
Published by Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) on November 15th 2016
Genres: Young Adult, Sci-Fi, Dystopian
Pages: 352
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley, Publisher
Goodreads
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

Orion is a Subpar, expected to mine the tunnels of Outpost Five, near the deadly flash curtain. For generations, her people have chased cirium—the only element that can shield humanity from the curtain’s radioactive particles. She and her caving partner, Dram work the most treacherous tunnel, fighting past flash bats and tunnel gulls, in hopes of mining enough cirium to earn their way into the protected city.
But when newcomers arrive at Outpost Five, Orion uncovers disturbing revelations that make her question everything she thought she knew about life on both sides of the cirium shield. As conditions at the outpost grow increasingly dangerous, it’s up to Orion to forge a way past the flashfall, beyond all boundaries, beyond the world as she knows it.

**I was supposed to do a Fave Quotes section, but I COMPLETELY forgot to highlight the eARC and I don’t have my Kindle with me today 🙁 This damn pregnancy brain is killing me!**

My Thoughts

Surprisingly I liked this book more than I thought I would. You see, I’m very picky when it comes to dystopian novels. But I think that this one was well done! It was unique and different and I really loved that! It was scary to think that these people lived so close to a deadly area and with so much radiation to where they have these bracelets embedded on them to warn them where their body radiation levels are at. I’d hate to live like that.

I loved Orion and Dram! I thought they were amazing characters. Very strong and very relatable! They’re also very brave. Some of the stuff that they do, I’m not sure I’d be able to do myself. I think that they were so well written!

There was just one thing that made it a 4 star book for me. Sometimes I got confused as to where they were at. Like all of the places within this book have a designated number and it could get confusing. But all-in-all, I think Jenny Moyer did a great job with this book and that if you like sci-fi or dystpian, you should give this one a chance!!

About the Authorjenny

Jenny is the author of YA sci-fi/fantasy FLASHFALL, coming from Macmillan/Holt 11-15-16. She lives with her filmmaker husband and their three boys in Des Moines.

Find out more at http://www.jennymoyer.com and connect with Jenny on Twitter and Facebook.

Author Links: Website || Goodreads || Twitter || Facebook || Instagram

Giveaway

giveaway-picture-1-backshirt

Win a signed hardcover of FLASHFALL by Jenny Moyer, a Flashfall t-shirt, exclusive patches from the book trailer, a pair of “Follow your dreams” socks, a carabiner and glow wristbands (US Only)
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tour Schedule

November 11th

November 12th
November 13th
Taking It One Book at a Time – Review + Dream Cast + Favorite Quotes
November 14th
Two Chicks on Books – Interview
Wishful Endings – Review
Ink of Blood – Review
November 15th
Literary Meanderings – Guest Post
In Wonderland – Review + Favorite Quotes
Buried Under Books – Review
November 16th
Library of a Book Witch – Review + Playlist
Perusing Pages – Review
Soph Reads Books – Review
November 17th
The Candid Cover – Review + Playlist + Dream Cast
Kindle and Me – Review
The Alchemy of Ink – Review
four-stars
Stephanie
Divider
Review: Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

Review: Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

Posted October 17, 2016 by Lizzie in Review / 1 Comment

How does one begin to explain how much they simply fell in love? I have no idea. Well, I guess we can just start with this: I loved every single page. This is probably might most loved sequel to any book, in my top five for the year, AND my top five all time favorite series. […]

Divider
Review: Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Review: Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Posted June 21, 2016 by Lizzie in Review / 3 Comments

Hello, Darlings! If you’re a regular of the bookish online community I doubt you haven’t NOT heard something about Six of Crows – and rightly so! I read this book when it initially came out last year, and loved it. With the sequel being published soon I just felt like it deserved  a reread. As […]

Divider
Shadow and Bone [Review]

Shadow and Bone [Review]

Posted May 12, 2015 by Stephanie in Review / 0 Comments

“The problem with wanting,” he whispered, his mouth trailing along my jaw until it hovered over my lips, “is that it makes us weak.” “I missed you every hour. And you know what the worst part was? It caught me completely by surprise.” “What are you smiling at?” I whirled, peering into the gloom. The […]

Divider