Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books

Cover Reveal: 100 Hours [& Giveaway]

Posted June 29, 2016 by Stephanie in book blitz, cover reveal, Giveaway / 2 Comments

I am so excited to share the awesome cover for 100 HOURS, the first book in a new trilogy by New York Times best-selling author Rachel Vincent, which releases on March 28, 2017 from Katherine Tegen Books, along with a note from the author about her upcoming novel and an amazing giveaway.

Scroll down to take check out the gorgeous cover, read what Rachel Vincent has to say about 100 HOURS, and enter for a chance to win. And be sure to share your thoughts about the cover in the comments!

The Cover!

Cover Reveal: 100 Hours [& Giveaway]100 Hours by Rachel Vincent
Published by Katherine Tegen Books on March 28th 2017
Genres: Young Adult, Suspense
Pages: 368
Goodreads
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

In this pulse-pounding new trilogy by New York Times bestselling author Rachel Vincent, a decadent spring break getaway on an exotic beach becomes a terrifying survival story when six Miami teens are kidnapped and ransomed.
Maddie is beyond done with her cousin Genesis’s entitled and shallow entourage. Genesis is so over Miami’s predictable social scene with its velvet ropes, petty power plays, and backstabbing boyfriends.
While Maddie craves family time for spring break, Genesis seeks novelty—like a last-minute getaway to an untouched beach in Colombia. And when Genesis wants something, it happens.
But paradise has its price. Dragged from their tents under the cover of dark, Genesis, Maddie, and their friends are kidnapped and held for ransom deep inside the jungle—with no diva left behind. It all feels so random to everyone except Genesis. She knows they were targeted for a reason. And that reason is her.
Now, as the hours count down, only one thing’s for certain: If the Miami hostages can’t set aside their personal problems, no one will make it out alive.

Isn’t that cover just beautiful?!

A Note from Rachel Vincent

In my upcoming YA suspense 100 HOURS, Genesis and her cousin Maddie come from opposite ends of the privilege spectrum, but when they wind up kidnapped for ransom during spring break in Colombia and have no one else to count on, they discover they have more in common than either of them thought.

If you’ve read any of my previous releases, 100 HOURS probably seems like a departure for a Rachel Vincent book. And that’s what I thought, back when it was just me and an idea. But as I wrote the story and got to know the characters, I realized that even though this book is set in the Colombian jungle and these characters have no supernatural abilities, 100 HOURS is very much a book about the themes that draw me in over and over. Survival. Family friction and loyalty. High-stakes pulse-racing action. Twists, turns, secrets, and revelations. Girls who can fend for themselves—and for anyone else who needs help.

rachel vincent

About the Author

Rachel Vincent is a former English teacher and an eager champion of the Oxford comma. She shares her home in Oklahoma with two cats, two teenagers, and her husband, who’s been her # 1 fan from the start. Rachel is older than she looks and younger than she feels, and she remains convinced that writing about the things that scare her is the cheapest form of therapy—but social media is a close second.

WEBSITE | BLOG | TWITTER | TUMBLR | FACEBOOK | INSTAGRAM | GOODREADS

Giveaway

Courtesy of the author, there is a blitz-wide giveaway for…

  • ONE (1) winner will receive a SIGNED SET of a paperback copy of THE STARS NEVER RISE + an ARC of THE FLAME NEVER DIES

Giveaway is US only. Must be 13 or older to enter. Giveaway ends on July 11th at 11:59 PM Pacific.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Stephanie
Divider

Blog Tour: Lies I Live By [Guest Post & Giveaway]

Posted June 6, 2016 by Stephanie in Blog Tour, Challenge, Giveaway, Guest Post / 4 Comments

Blog Tour: Lies I Live By [Guest Post & Giveaway]Lies I Live By by Lauren Sabel
Published by Katherine Tegen Books on May 31st 2016
Genres: Young Adult, Mystery, Romance
Pages: 432
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Goodreads
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

Romance, intrigue, and action collide in this psychic twist on the classic spy novel.
Callie Sinclair is literally out of her mind; as the government’s youngest psychic spy, she finds valuable information for top-secret missions. Her work keeps her headaches at bay, but it means she must lie to everyone she loves, including her longtime boyfriend, Charlie.
When a new psychic arrives at the office, Callie can’t help but flirt; Jasper already knows her in a way Charlie never will.
But as her love life gets more complicated, so do her visions. People halfway around the world seem to be in danger...and people in her own backyard, too. If Callie can’t find a way to alter future events, she could lose the people she loves—and her mind. Literally.
Lauren Sabel’s enthralling, romantic novel captures the thrill of exploring a unique power in a dangerous world.

Guest Post

I have two kinds of writing days.

They are either incredibly exciting, with joyful surprises around every corner, and I run through the day like a kid in an amusement park – or they are painful, and I drag myself from uninspired thought to uninspired thought for what seems like forever.

On those days, I’m grateful for my joyful writing days, and I have to cling onto the memory of them to get through the day at all. Often I can bribe myself to get inspired with a mocha or another caffeinated treat, but sometimes I just count those days as payment for the writing muse on the more joyful writing days, and I go home and take a nap.

Most of the inspired days often look like this: I get to my office at 9 am and start by free-writing about the scene I’m going to work on that day. I try to include what the characters’ motivations are, what their dialogue to each other might be, what I want the feeling of the scene to be, etc., and then I pour everything I have into writing for around six hours.

On other days I’ll go into my office with a fiery taste for language on my tongue, and I’ll just play with words, placing one after another to see how they sound together. If any of those snippets move the plot forward or deepen the characters, great. If not, they still develop the book’s tone and prepare me for those times that I am focused intensely on moving the characters and plot line forward in one specific scene.

And then there are those beautiful, precious days where I wake up and words flow like a dream through my fingers. I wish that day were today. I wish that day were EVERYDAY.

About the Author

Originally from the Rocky Mountains, Lauren Sabel has returned to the cool mountain air of Boulder, Colorado after living in several wonderful cities that she will always love and continue to visit year after year.

Lauren loves her husband, her family, her friends, and stories that end happily. (Unfortunately, hers never do.) She also loves digging into her mind and revealing tiny gems she didn’t know were there. 

Lauren learned to mind dig while getting her MFA in Creative Writing from Naropa, a Buddhist college in Boulder, Colorado. Before Naropa, Lauren studied film in Rome, where she developed her love of crypts and other beautiful creepy things. She also worked in the film industry in New York and San Francisco, focusing mainly on film festivals, as she can never pass up a good party. In San Francisco she worked for Chronicle Books, where she was inducted into the fascinating world of book publishing. 

For the past eight years, Lauren has been teaching college students the joys of creative writing, whether they like it or not.

In 2008, Lauren was published in Undiscovered Voices, an anthology of the best new writers for children in the U.K., where she was living at the time. Then life got very exciting very quickly. She signed with Jodi Reamer Esq. at The Writer’s House Agency in New York, and they made magic happen, and that magic is named Katherine Tegen. (aka: Katherine Tegen Publishing, Harper Collins).

Lauren’s first book, Vivian Divine is Dead was published June 3 2014. She’s currently working on her next book, which she can’t wait to tell you about (but has to wait just a little while anyway).

Lauren believes that being a teenager is an act of courage, and is proud of anyone who manages to stick through it, despite the pain. 🙂

LINKS: Website | Twitter | Facebook

Giveaway

3 Finished Copies of LIES I LIVE BY (US Only)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tour Schedule

Week 1:
 
Week 2:
Stephanie
Divider
Burning Glass [Review]

Burning Glass [Review]

Posted January 16, 2016 by Maria in Review / 0 Comments

Title: Burning Glass Author: Katryn Purdie Series: Burning Glass #1 Genre: Fantasy Pages: 512 Published By: Katherine Tegen Books on March 1st 2016 **I received a copy of this from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.** Where To Get:   Sonya was born with the rare gift to feel what those around her feel—both […]

Divider
Allegiant [Review]

Allegiant [Review]

Posted May 13, 2015 by Stephanie in Review / 0 Comments

I suppose a fire that burns that bright is not meant to last. I fell in love with him. But I don’t just stay with him by default as if there’s no one else available to me. I stay with him because I choose to, every day that I wake up, every day that we […]

Divider
Reader’s Choice Review [1] – Divergent

Reader’s Choice Review [1] – Divergent

Posted August 24, 2013 by Stephanie in Review / 0 Comments

My Thoughts: So, I have decided that I absolutely love this new Reader’s Choice challenge that I am doing because I don’t know when I would have picked up this book without having this challenge. I love this series and I just bought Insurgent on my Kindle so that I can pick up where it […]

Divider