Publisher: Razorbill

WoW [96]

Posted February 15, 2017 by Lizzie in Meme / 1 Comment

Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday (aka: WoW) is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine, spotlighting releases we are waiting for eagerly.

This Week’s Victim Pick….

WoW [96]The Valiant by Lesley Livingston
Series: The Valiant #1
Published by Razorbill on February 14th 2017
Genres: Young Adult, Historical, Fantasy
Pages: 372
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository
Goodreads

Lost to history, the story of the female gladiator has never been told. Until now.
Fallon is the daughter of a proud Celtic king and the younger sister of the legendary warrior Sorcha. When Fallon was just a child, Sorcha was killed while defending their home from the armies of Julius Caesar.
On the eve of her seventeenth birthday, Fallon is excited to follow in her sister's footsteps and earn her place in her father's war band. She never gets the chance.
Fallon is captured by ruthless brigands who sell her to an elite training school for female gladiators owned by none other than Julius Caesar himself. In a cruel twist of fate, the man who destroyed Fallon s family might be her only hope of survival. Now, Fallon must overcome vicious rivalries, deadly fights in and out of the arena, and perhaps the most dangerous threat of all: her irresistible feelings for Cai, a young Roman soldier and her sworn enemy.
A richly imagined fantasy for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Cinda Williams Chima, "The Valiant" recounts Fallon s gripping journey from fierce Celtic princess to legendary gladiator and darling of the Roman empire."

My Thoughts

I’m going to repeat this now just so we can let this sink in: “from fierce Celtic princess to legendary gladiator and darling of the Roman empire.” YES, YOU HEARD RIGHT. Sorry for all the yelling but I think I just found my new girl crush. Look at that cover! That synopsis! The quoted sentence above tells you exactly why you need this, I can’t do it any better. Holy moly people. Want. Please.

And now…over to you: what book are you waiting to release? Link me up and I’ll try my best to drop by! 🙂

Lizzie
Divider

Blog Tour: Empress of a Thousand Skies [Review & Giveaway]

Posted February 7, 2017 by Stephanie in Blog Tour, Giveaway, Review / 5 Comments

Blog Tour: Empress of a Thousand Skies [Review & Giveaway]

Blog Tour: Empress of a Thousand Skies [Review & Giveaway]Empress of a Thousand Skies by Rhoda Belleza
Series: Empress of a Thousand Skies #1
Published by Razorbill on February 7th 2017
Genres: Young Adult, Sci-Fi, Fantasy
Pages: 344
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository
Goodreads
three-half-stars

EmpressRhee, also known as Crown Princess Rhiannon Ta’an, is the sole surviving heir to a powerful dynasty. She’ll stop at nothing to avenge her family and claim her throne.
FugitiveAly has risen above his war refugee origins to find fame as the dashing star of a DroneVision show. But when he’s falsely accused of killing Rhee, he's forced to prove his innocence to save his reputation – and his life.
MadmanWith planets on the brink of war, Rhee and Aly are thrown together to confront a ruthless evil that threatens the fate of the entire galaxy.
A saga of vengeance, warfare, and the true meaning of legacy.

My Thoughts

Okay, so let’s get this out.. I really enjoyed this story! Were there problems? Sure. But all-in-all, I thought it was a great story. I liked the writing. I liked the characters. I thought that this was a good debut and I can only expect more from Rhoda in the future!

There were a couple issues, however. There are times where I can see some readers getting bored, but I feel like that there is enough action within the entirety of the story to keep someone entertained. It kept me entertained. The other issue I had was that there is one thing that you expect to happen from reading the summary.. and it just doesn’t happen. Now this could be because it is from the Advanced Reader Copy and not everything is finalized in the ARCs. Or it could have just been the wrong way to summarize the book. But the main reason why I rated it 3.5 stars was because this particular plotline just wasn’t there.

Other than that, I had a very enjoyable time reading this book and I loved the worldbuilding that Rhoda Belleza had created and I really wouldn’t mind seeing more within this world (and thank god there’s a second book to this)! If you love great worldbuilding, writing, and a strong Sci-fi presence, then I think you should give this one a try!

About the Author

Rhoda Belleza was raised in Los Angeles, where she grew up writing X-Files fanfiction and stuffing her face with avocados. She’s a children’s editor at a publishing house and writes from a sunny Brooklyn apartment stuffed with far too many bikes and far too many shoes. When she’s not writing, Rhoda obsesses over nail art tutorials, watches kung fu movies, and sews together crooked things that pass for clothes. Empress of a Thousand Skies is her debut novel. Follow her on Twitter @rhodabee.

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Enter for a chance to win one (1) of three (3) signed copies of Empress of a Thousand Skies by Rhoda Belleza (ARV: $17.99 each).
NO PURCHASE NECESSARY. Enter between 12:00 AM Eastern Time on February 6, 2017 and 12:00 AM on February 20, 2017.  Open to residents of the fifty United States and the District of Columbia who are 13 and older. Winners will be selected at random on or about February 22, 2017. Odds of winning depend on number of eligible entries received. Void where prohibited or restricted by law.

Tour Schedule

Week One:
2/6 – Brittany’s Book Rambles – Guest Post
2/6 – Bibliophile Gathering – Review
2/6 – Seeing Double in Neverland – Mood Board
2/7 – Tales of a Ravenous Reader – Excerpt
2/7 – In Wonderland – Review
2/8 – Across the Words – Character Fan Casting
2/8 – Novel Ink – Review
2/8 – Bookling Critics – Review
2/9 – The Young Folks – Interview
2/9 – Here’s to Happy Endings – Review
2/10 – Butter My Books – Book Look
2/10 – Ex Libris – Review
2/10 – My Friends Are Fiction – Guest Post
Week Two:
2/13 – Stories & Sweeties – Empress Cupcakes
2/13 – What Sarah Read – Guest Post
2/13 – MundieMoms – Review
2/14 – YA Wednesdays – Character Fashion
2/14 – Fiction Fare – Review
2/15 – Once Upon a Twilight – Favorite Quotes
2/15 – The Books Buzz – Review
2/15 – Take Me Away to a Great Read – Review
2/16 – The YA Book Traveler – Empress Trailer
2/16 – Bookworm Everlasting – Review
2/17 – The Forest of Words and Pages – Like/Try/Why
2/17 – The Paige Turner – Interview
2/17 – Fangirlish – Review

Let’s talk about it!

Did you read Empress of a Thousand Skies? Do you want to? What draws you into wanting to read this? Or what doesn’t?

three-half-stars

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Stephanie
Divider
WoW [86]

WoW [86]

Posted November 30, 2016 by Lizzie in Meme / 0 Comments

Waiting on Wednesday (aka: WoW) is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine, spotlighting releases we are waiting for eagerly. This Week’s Victim Pick…. My Thoughts Are you seeing that cover? ARE YOU! Please allow me to proclaim my undying love for anything Indian inspired featuring a female protagonists. This is definitely not a […]

Divider
Mini Reviews [4] (SiW August Edition)

Mini Reviews [4] (SiW August Edition)

Posted October 5, 2015 by Stephanie in Review / 0 Comments

So, there have been some books that I have read in the past year or so that I just forgot to write a review for. There are also others that I either DNF’d or just don’t have enough to say for a full size review. So, for those books I will be putting them into […]

Divider