Series: Spindle Fire

Blog Tour: Spindle Fire [Guest Post & Giveaway]

Posted April 7, 2017 by Stephanie in Blog Tour, Giveaway, Guest Post / 7 Comments

Blog Tour: Spindle Fire [Guest Post & Giveaway]Spindle Fire by Lexa Hillyer
Series: Spindle Fire #1
Published by Harper Teen on April 11 2017
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Retelling
Goodreads
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

Half sisters Isabelle and Aurora are polar opposites: Isabelle is the king's headstrong illegitimate daughter, whose sight was tithed by faeries; Aurora, beautiful and sheltered, was tithed her sense of touch and her voice on the same day. Despite their differences, the sisters have always been extremely close.
And then everything changes, with a single drop of Aurora's blood--and a sleep so deep it cannot be broken.
As the faerie queen and her army of Vultures prepare to march, Isabelle must race to find a prince who can awaken her sister with the kiss of true love and seal their two kingdoms in an alliance against the queen.
Isabelle crosses land and sea; unearthly, thorny vines rise up the palace walls; and whispers of revolt travel in the ashes on the wind. The kingdom falls to ruin under layers of snow. Meanwhile, Aurora wakes up in a strange and enchanted world, where a mysterious hunter may be the secret to her escape . . . or the reason for her to stay.
Spindle Fire is the first book in a duology.

Guest Post

I learned so many interesting things while researching for Spindle Fire! I based the world loosely on France in the early 1300’s, but layered in the rules and history of the faerie world. One of the things I had suspected was that in the early fourteenth century, western Europe did not have spinning wheels! They only used drop spindles (which—fun fact—I’ve actually used before. We had a class in middle school devoted to hand-spinning, dyeing and weaving wool! You have to spin this thing that looks like a top, while literally letting it drop to the floor, with chunks of wool wrapped around the base. The gravity and the spinning pull on the wool and stretch it into yarn, basically. My yarn was always terrible and chunky, though.) Anyway, there were spinning wheels in China for literally hundreds of years prior. The spinning wheel in my book is enchanted and it is something Malfleur and Belcoeur’s parents procured in their world travels. I also had to look up the names of all the different rooms and buildings in medieval convents and castles, and I constantly had blueprints up on my computer while trying to choreograph scenes. I discovered that whale hunting was a huge industry in that time, and also that narwhals in particular were coveted for their tusks, partly because so many people believed in the legends of the unicorns and could be suckered into purchasing the tusks thinking they were unicorn horns. For the sequel, I read about battle strategies, and medieval glass-making, and open-pit sapphire mines (even though the latter ended up getting cut from the draft!) I learned how to light a flint via a Youtube video. I also read about plague masks and hunting rituals and I read a number of essays on how to write action sequences featuring blind narrators—it was important to me to do justice to that and to make a distinction between Isabelle’s often stubborn desire to throw herself into dangerous situations and, on the other hand, the reasonable limitations she would experience. I never wanted her blindness to feel like a gimmick, but a trait that she lives with, sometimes grappling with it but mostly accepting it as part of the fabric of her existence and how she experiences the world. The Binks chapter was a lot of fun. I learned that gambling and card-playing were so rampant that a tax was placed on all card decks and you could be fined for using an illegal deck. I took some liberties with the idea of Romances—back then, the great works of “romance” were stories of heroism and war. The term didn’t really mean what it means today, but even still, there were tales of love woven through and I imagined that those are what Aurora latches onto when she teaches herself to read. That’s another thing I wanted to make very clear—how unusual it would have been for a woman (or anyone) to be able to read at all! They mostly didn’t have paper (that was just coming into circulation although like so many inventions, it had existed for hundreds of years already in the east). And of course they wrote with quills you had to dip into ink pots, so it’s not like writing was particularly convenient or common, either. Aurora’s life would have been a whole lot easier if she could have just jotted down notes for people to read!

About the Author

Lexa Hillyer is the co-founder of Paper Lantern Lit, former YA editor, and author of Proof of Forever. Lexa is also an award-winning poet: Her first collection, Acquainted with the Cold, won the Melissa Lanitis Gregory Poetry Prize as well as the 2012 Book of the Year Award from ForeWord Reviews. Her poetry has been anthologized in Best New Poets 2012, and has appeared in several journals. She lives in Brooklyn with her husband and their daughter.

LINKS: Website | Twitter Instagram

Giveaway

3 Finished Copies of SPINDLE FIRE (US Only)
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tour Schedule

Week 1:

4/3: Lost In Lit – Bookish Inspirations

4/4: Ex Libris – Review

4/5: The Irish Banana Review – Makeup Inspirations

4/6: Reads All the Books – Review

4/7: In Wonderland – Guest Post

Week 2:

4/10: Book Scents – Review

4/11: The Fake Steph – Q&A

4/12: Swoony Boys Podcast – Review

4/13: The Bookkeeper’s Secret – Mood Board

4/14: The Story Sanctuary – Review

Let’s talk about it!

Stephanie
Divider

WoW [80]

Posted October 19, 2016 by Lizzie in Meme / 2 Comments

Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday (aka: WoW) is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine, spotlighting releases we are waiting for eagerly.

This Week’s Victim Pick….

WoW [80]Spindle Fire by Lexa Hillyer
Series: Spindle Fire #1
Published by HarperTeen on April 11th 2017
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Retelling
Pages: 368
Goodreads
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

Perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Leigh Bardugo, Spindle Fire is an enthralling, wholly original reimagining of a classic faerie story.
Half sisters Isabelle and Aurora are polar opposites: Isabelle is the king’s headstrong illegitimate daughter, whose sight was tithed by faeries; Aurora, beautiful and sheltered, was tithed her sense of touch and voice on the same day. Despite their differences, the sisters have always been extremely close.
And then everything changes, with a single drop of Aurora’s blood, a Faerie Queen who is preparing for war, a strange and enchanting dream realm—and a sleep so deep it cannot be broken.
Spindle Fire is a tour-de-force fantasy set in the dwindling, deliciously corrupt world of the fae and featuring two truly unforgettable heroines, from a writer destined to be a major voice in YA.

My Thoughts

I have an extreme weakness for anything faerie and anything retellings and beautiful covers. So basically, this hit all the marks to be a true love at first synopsis. I literally can’t think of what more to say beyond those things. I need this book. I want it. I WILL have it.

And now…over to you: what book are you waiting to release? Link me up and I’ll try my best to drop by! 🙂

Lizzie
Divider