Source: Publisher

What I’ve Been Reading… [1]

Posted June 21, 2018 by Stephanie in Review, Wrap Up / 1 Comment

What I’ve Been Reading… will be a segment here on In Wonderland a few times a month. Or really, whenever I have a plethora of books that I want to share that I’ve read and give a quick review of. This is my way of doing a review without feeling the daunting/boring feel of it. Of course, every so often I will give a full review. But I don’t want to get discouraged from my blog for *having* to write reviews.

What I’ve Been Reading Lately…

What I’ve Been Reading… [1]Frozen Tides by Morgan Rhodes
Series: Falling Kingdoms #4
Published by Razorbill on December 15th 2015
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy
Pages: 413
Format: Hardcover
Source: Purchased
Goodreads
five-stars
Series Rating: five-stars
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

I didn’t include the synopsis for this because it’s book 4 and well, spoilers. But I loved this book. Lucia bothered me. But I think she bothered most people.

What I’ve Been Reading… [1]Crystal Storm by Morgan Rhodes
Series: Falling Kingdoms #5
Published by Razorbill on December 13th 2016
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy
Pages: 379
Format: Hardcover
Source: Publisher
Goodreads
four-stars
Series Rating: five-stars
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

I also didn’t include the synopsis for this because it’s book 5 and spoilers, darling. This was probably my least favorite of the books… but for it being my least favorite.. I still gave it a solid 4 stars.. So, what does that tell you about this series?!

What I’ve Been Reading… [1]Immortal Reign by Morgan Rhodes
Series: Falling Kingdoms #6
Published by Razorbill on February 6th 2018
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy
Pages: 391
Format: Hardcover
Source: Publisher
Goodreads
five-stars
Series Rating: five-stars
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

Again, no synopsis. Spoilers. However, if you haven’t read this series yet.. what are you waiting for?! This is one of my favorite series of all time and has solidified Morgan Rhodes as a auto buy author for me! I enjoyed every word of this series! And just want to have discussions with all of you about them!!

five-stars

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Stephanie
Divider

Blog Tour: She Loves You [My Favorite Beatle]

Posted June 19, 2018 by Stephanie in #PRHPartner, Blog Tour, Listicle, Spotlight / 1 Comment

Blog Tour: She Loves You [My Favorite Beatle]

Blog Tour: She Loves You [My Favorite Beatle]She Loves You (Yeah, Yeah, Yeah) by Ann Hood
Published by Penguin Workshop on June 26th 2018
Genres: Middle Grade, Historical, Children's
Pages: 256
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
Goodreads
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

Best-selling author Ann Hood tells the story of a girl swept up in the heart of 1960s Beatlemania. Written in her signature prose, Hood weaves a tale of four misfit friends who set off to see the Beatles' final world tour, each harboring a secret hope. What emerges is a sincere and funny story of growing up, making unexpected connections, and following your dreams even as the world in front of you--and the world at large--is changing too fast.

The year is 1966. The Vietnam War rages overseas, the Beatles have catapulted into stardom, and twelve-year-old Rhode Island native Trudy Mixer is not thrilled with life. Her best friend, Michelle, has decided to become a cheerleader, everyone at school is now calling her Gertrude (her hated real name), and the gem of her middle school career, the Beatles fan club, has dwindled down to only three other members--the least popular kids at school. And at home, her workaholic father has become even more distant.

Determined to regain her social status and prove herself to her father, Trudy looks toward the biggest thing happening worldwide: the Beatles. She is set on seeing their final world tour in Boston at the end of the summer--and meeting her beloved Paul McCartney. So on a hot August day, unknown to their families, Trudy and crew set off on their journey, each of them with soaring hopes for what lies ahead.

My Favorite Beatle

There’s no doubt about it, I love The Beatles. I have ever since I was little. My parents grew up in the era of The Beatles and they passed down their love of the music to me. I’d say my top 3 Beatles songs would have to be: Here Comes The Sun, Hey Jude, and Blackbird. Which brings me to who my favorite Beatle is… George Harrison. Most people would automatically say John Lennon or Paul McCartney and while I love them.. George is my favorite. I think he became my favorite after I found out that he wrote Here Comes The Sun. And that song got me through some tough times. I suffered with depression during high school and for some reason Here Comes the Sun helped me out so much.

And then a few months after I turned 18, my dad died. He was suffering with his own demons and took his own life. And I went through some tough battles of dealing with the grief and again Here Comes the Sun shone a light in my life when it was at it’s darkest. And every time I hear Here Comes the Sun, I can’t help but think happy things and how even in your darkest moment there is a sun shining somewhere in your life. And I can’t be more grateful to have that song in my life and it’s all thanks to my boy George.

Here Comes The Sun

…for your listening pleasure <3

About the Author

Ann Hood is the author of the best-selling novels The Book That Matters MostThe Obituary WriterSomewhere Off the Coast of MaineThe Red Thread, and The Knitting Circle, as well as the memoir Comfort: A Journey Through Grief, which was a New York Times Editor’s Choice and chosen as one of the top ten nonfiction books of 2008 by Entertainment Weekly. She has won two Pushcart Prizes as well as a Best American Spiritual Writing Award, two Best American Food Writing Award, and a Best American Travel Writing award. A regular contributor to the New York Times, Hood’s short stories and essays have appeared in many publications, including PloughsharesTin HouseTravelerBon AppetitOMoreThe Wall Street JournalThe Washington PostThe Paris Review, and others. She is the editor of the anthologies Knitting Yarns: Writers Writing About KnittingKnitting Pearls: More Writers Writing About Knitting, and Providence Noir. Hood is also the author of books for children, including the middle-grade novel, How I Saved My Father (And Ruined Everything Else), and the ten-book Treasure Chest series for young readers. Her new memoir, Morningstar: Growing Up with Books, will be published in August. She lives in Providence, Rhode Island, and New York City, and is married to the writer Michael Ruhlman.

Tour Schedule

June 18 – BookHounds YA – Favorite Beatle and why

June 19 – In Wonderland – Favorite Beatle

June 20 – It’s Just About Write – Author Guest Post: If it starts with the Beatles, what makes boy bands and the stories they inspire still so popular today all these decades later?

June 21 – Dotters Daughters Picks – Author Q&A

June 25 – Ms. Yingling Reads – Review

June 26 – Sweet Things – Review + Creative

June 27 – Book Nerds Across America – Favorite Boy Band

Let’s talk about it!

Stephanie
Divider
Blog Tour: Gathering Darkness [Review]

Blog Tour: Gathering Darkness [Review]

Posted January 17, 2018 by Stephanie in Blog Tour, Review / 0 Comments

My Thoughts OMG, there really isn’t a whole lot that I can say about this one without any spoilers, but I will try my best! But, guys… every book in this series just keeps getting better and better. With each book I love the characters even more. The plot gets more intense. I’m literally on […]

Divider
The Dark Days Club [Review]

The Dark Days Club [Review]

Posted January 30, 2017 by Stephanie in Review / 1 Comment

My Thoughts So for the most part I liked this book. I think my main issue with this was just the fact that I have been in such a book slumpy mood that it’s put a damper on not only the amount of books I’ve been reading but whether or not I enjoy them. It […]

Divider