Source: Publisher

Blog Tour: Empress of a Thousand Skies [Review & Giveaway]

Posted February 7, 2017 by Stephanie in Blog Tour, Giveaway, Review / 5 Comments

Blog Tour: Empress of a Thousand Skies [Review & Giveaway]

Blog Tour: Empress of a Thousand Skies [Review & Giveaway]Empress of a Thousand Skies by Rhoda Belleza
Series: Empress of a Thousand Skies #1
Published by Razorbill on February 7th 2017
Genres: Young Adult, Sci-Fi, Fantasy
Pages: 344
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository
Goodreads
three-half-stars

EmpressRhee, also known as Crown Princess Rhiannon Ta’an, is the sole surviving heir to a powerful dynasty. She’ll stop at nothing to avenge her family and claim her throne.
FugitiveAly has risen above his war refugee origins to find fame as the dashing star of a DroneVision show. But when he’s falsely accused of killing Rhee, he's forced to prove his innocence to save his reputation – and his life.
MadmanWith planets on the brink of war, Rhee and Aly are thrown together to confront a ruthless evil that threatens the fate of the entire galaxy.
A saga of vengeance, warfare, and the true meaning of legacy.

My Thoughts

Okay, so let’s get this out.. I really enjoyed this story! Were there problems? Sure. But all-in-all, I thought it was a great story. I liked the writing. I liked the characters. I thought that this was a good debut and I can only expect more from Rhoda in the future!

There were a couple issues, however. There are times where I can see some readers getting bored, but I feel like that there is enough action within the entirety of the story to keep someone entertained. It kept me entertained. The other issue I had was that there is one thing that you expect to happen from reading the summary.. and it just doesn’t happen. Now this could be because it is from the Advanced Reader Copy and not everything is finalized in the ARCs. Or it could have just been the wrong way to summarize the book. But the main reason why I rated it 3.5 stars was because this particular plotline just wasn’t there.

Other than that, I had a very enjoyable time reading this book and I loved the worldbuilding that Rhoda Belleza had created and I really wouldn’t mind seeing more within this world (and thank god there’s a second book to this)! If you love great worldbuilding, writing, and a strong Sci-fi presence, then I think you should give this one a try!

About the Author

Rhoda Belleza was raised in Los Angeles, where she grew up writing X-Files fanfiction and stuffing her face with avocados. She’s a children’s editor at a publishing house and writes from a sunny Brooklyn apartment stuffed with far too many bikes and far too many shoes. When she’s not writing, Rhoda obsesses over nail art tutorials, watches kung fu movies, and sews together crooked things that pass for clothes. Empress of a Thousand Skies is her debut novel. Follow her on Twitter @rhodabee.

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Enter for a chance to win one (1) of three (3) signed copies of Empress of a Thousand Skies by Rhoda Belleza (ARV: $17.99 each).
NO PURCHASE NECESSARY. Enter between 12:00 AM Eastern Time on February 6, 2017 and 12:00 AM on February 20, 2017.  Open to residents of the fifty United States and the District of Columbia who are 13 and older. Winners will be selected at random on or about February 22, 2017. Odds of winning depend on number of eligible entries received. Void where prohibited or restricted by law.

Tour Schedule

Week One:
2/6 – Brittany’s Book Rambles – Guest Post
2/6 – Bibliophile Gathering – Review
2/6 – Seeing Double in Neverland – Mood Board
2/7 – Tales of a Ravenous Reader – Excerpt
2/7 – In Wonderland – Review
2/8 – Across the Words – Character Fan Casting
2/8 – Novel Ink – Review
2/8 – Bookling Critics – Review
2/9 – The Young Folks – Interview
2/9 – Here’s to Happy Endings – Review
2/10 – Butter My Books – Book Look
2/10 – Ex Libris – Review
2/10 – My Friends Are Fiction – Guest Post
Week Two:
2/13 – Stories & Sweeties – Empress Cupcakes
2/13 – What Sarah Read – Guest Post
2/13 – MundieMoms – Review
2/14 – YA Wednesdays – Character Fashion
2/14 – Fiction Fare – Review
2/15 – Once Upon a Twilight – Favorite Quotes
2/15 – The Books Buzz – Review
2/15 – Take Me Away to a Great Read – Review
2/16 – The YA Book Traveler – Empress Trailer
2/16 – Bookworm Everlasting – Review
2/17 – The Forest of Words and Pages – Like/Try/Why
2/17 – The Paige Turner – Interview
2/17 – Fangirlish – Review

Let’s talk about it!

Did you read Empress of a Thousand Skies? Do you want to? What draws you into wanting to read this? Or what doesn’t?

three-half-stars

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Stephanie
Divider

The Dark Days Club [Review]

Posted January 30, 2017 by Stephanie in Review / 1 Comment

The Dark Days Club [Review]The Dark Days Club by Alison Goodman
Series: Lady Helen #1
Published by Viking Books for Young Readers on January 26th, 2016
Genres: Young Adult, Historical, Paranormal
Pages: 512
Format: Paperback
Source: Publisher
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository
Goodreads
three-half-stars

"Captivates with a mix of history and fantasy. [An] immersive, action-packed narrative. USA Today's Happy Ever After From theNew York Timesbestselling author of Eon and Eona;a Regency adventure series starring a stylish and intrepid Buffy-esque demon-hunter London, April 1812. On the eve of eighteen-year-old Lady Helen Wrexhall's presentation to the queen, one of her family's housemaids disappears-and Helen is drawn into the shadows of Regency London. There, she meets Lord Carlston, one of the few who can stop the perpetrators: a cabal of demons infiltrating every level of society. Dare she ask for his help, when his reputation is almost as black as his lingering eyes? And will her intelligence and headstrong curiosity wind up leading them into a death trap?"

My Thoughts

So for the most part I liked this book. I think my main issue with this was just the fact that I have been in such a book slumpy mood that it’s put a damper on not only the amount of books I’ve been reading but whether or not I enjoy them. It took me a little bit to get into this story. And I’m not sure if it’s because it’s a long book. (But I did just fine while listening to The Diviners) but it just felt like it was a long book. It wasn’t boring it was just long. I’m not sure if I’m making any sense. Like I said, it could be my slump that I’ve been in. I do however appreciate how real this felt. It really seems like Alison Goodman did her research on the time period, because I felt like I was there.

I also appreciated how Alison Goodman wrote. I think she did a great job with creating a world that felt real and taking people, places, and things from our actual history and creating paranormal and fantasy elements within that. She did a great job at creating characters and I can’t wait for more of them.

I think maybe I would have felt a little more connected to the book if the romance was a bit more on the forefront. I do love me some romance and I just felt that it was really lackluster in that department.

Other than that, I’m quite excited to finish off this series. Because I did enjoy it. And you should give it a shot too!

three-half-stars

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Stephanie
Divider
The Rift Uprising [Review and Giveaway]

The Rift Uprising [Review and Giveaway]

Posted December 1, 2016 by Lizzie in Giveaway, Review / 1 Comment

My Thoughts For some reason, I can never figure out how to best start a review! I guess I will start with my overall feeling after finishing this guy: I liked it, it was fast passed and I read it in one sitting! Very movie-esque, I could picture the Rift and the setting SO well. […]

Divider
Love & Gelato [Review]

Love & Gelato [Review]

Posted November 28, 2016 by Stephanie in Review / 2 Comments

My Thoughts I really, really, really enjoyed this story. It was the perfect young adult contemporary and exactly what I needed at this time. It’s a story about a girl named Lina who moves to Italy to live with her father for the summer after her mom dies. She is given a journal that her […]

Divider
Review: Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

Review: Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

Posted October 24, 2016 by Lizzie in Review / 2 Comments

At this point, I would read Jay Kristoff’s grocery list. This is my top book release of 2016, and sitting pretty on my all time favorite’s shelves. I own the ARC, the Us edition, and the UK. I guess you could say I’m obsessed. If you’re looking for something that’s blood bath meets Harry Potter, […]

Divider