Source: Uppercase Box

By Your Side [Review]

Posted July 18, 2017 by Stephanie in Review / 0 Comments

By Your Side [Review]By Your Side by Kasie West
Published by Harper Teen on January 31st 2017
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 346
Format: Hardcover
Source: Purchased, Uppercase Box
Goodreads
four-half-stars
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

In this irresistible story, Kasie West explores the timeless question of what to do when you fall for the person you least expect. Witty and romantic, this paperback original from a fan favorite is perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins and Morgan Matson.

When Autumn Collins finds herself accidentally locked in the library for an entire weekend, she doesn’t think things could get any worse. But that’s before she realizes that Dax Miller is locked in with her. Autumn doesn’t know much about Dax except that he’s trouble. Between the rumors about the fight he was in (and that brief stint in juvie that followed it) and his reputation as a loner, he’s not exactly the ideal person to be stuck with. Still, she just keeps reminding herself that it is only a matter of time before Jeff, her almost-boyfriend, realizes he left her in the library and comes to rescue her.

Only he doesn’t come. No one does.

Instead it becomes clear that Autumn is going to have to spend the next couple of days living off vending-machine food and making conversation with a boy who clearly wants nothing to do with her. Except there is more to Dax than meets the eye. As he and Autumn first grudgingly, and then not so grudgingly, open up to each other, Autumn is struck by their surprising connection. But can their feelings for each other survive once the weekend is over and Autumn’s old life, and old love interest, threaten to pull her from Dax’s side?

My Thoughts

This book was adorable! Kasie West has definitely climbed up to an author I autobuy. I am absolutely in love with her writing and her stories. Every book of hers that I read is always a quick and fun read for me and they help me get out of some reading slumps!

This book of hers is no exception. I was completely engrossed with the story and loved the idea of being locked in a library for a weekend! Autumn, the main character, winds up being locked in the library for a weekend with Dax, the troublemaker. I loved the relationship that grows between Autumn and Dax. And I really loved the fact that it was a hate to love romance. Those are some of my favorite romances!

What really bothered me and what I have noticed in the few Kasie West books that I have read is that I usually hate the friends the main character has. I wish there were better friendships in her books which is ultimately why I rated this at a 4.5 star read. Like, for the first half of the book I kept questioning myself as to why she was friends with these people. Granted, later on in the book it made sense (mostly) as to why they never came back for her at the library. But even at the same time, I still questioned why she was friends with them.

All-in-all though, I thought this was a great story and honestly, you should read it for the whole being locked in a library aspect alone! 😀

Let’s talk about it!

Have you read this Kasie West book? How do you feel about the friendships within her books?

 

four-half-stars

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Stephanie
Divider

Spend May With Finding Audrey! [Review & Giveaway]

Posted May 19, 2016 by Stephanie in Blog Tour, Giveaway, Review, Spotlight / 12 Comments

Spend May With Finding Audrey! [Review & Giveaway]Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella
Published by Delacorte Books for Young Readers on June 9th 2015
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Realistic
Pages: 286
Format: Hardcover
Source: Purchased, Uppercase Box
Goodreads
four-half-stars
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

Now available in paperback is the New York Times bestselling debut YA novel Finding Audrey (Ember /on sale May 3, 2016 /$9.99) from internationally bestselling author Sophie Kinsella. Kinsella, the author of such favorites as the Shopaholic series, Can You Keep a Secret?, Wedding Night, and Remember Me?, introduced readers to 14-year- old Audrey Turner, a teen in the throes of a severe social anxiety disorder after a bullying incident at school, and following her journey to rediscovering herself and her happiness. Receiving much critical acclaim from reviewers and fans, the book was hailed as “heartfelt,” “engaging,” and “relatable.”

Audrey spends most of her days hiding behind her dark sunglasses and in the safety of her own home, surrounded by her lovable but chaotic family. Interaction with non–family members has been almost impossible to master since the incident at school. But then one day Linus arrives at her house. A friend of her brother’s, Linus makes an instant connection with Audrey and starts to chip away at her exterior, exposing the girl underneath—the girl Audrey herself has been searching for. What results is a tender love story that begins as a friendship and continues in the local Starbucks, where Audrey begins to heal the wounds that have threatened to hold her captive.

Filled with poignancy and laugh-out- loud moments, Finding Audrey gives readers a character they can relate to and a family to embrace. Kinsella’s story tackles serious topics with humor and heart and creates the next YA couple to root for in Audrey and Linus.

*via the press release courtesy of Penguin Random House*

My Thoughts

I really enjoyed this book! I felt like I was really able to connect with Audrey considering I have my own anxiety and depression issues. Sure, they never got as bad as Audrey’s but I felt like I was still able to connect with Audrey and I really loved her! She not only has these mental health issues, but she’s also funny. Her family is funny. A little dysfunctional, but hey, whose family isn’t dysfunctional nowadays? 🙂

This book is refreshing because Audrey doesn’t go through the normal day. She doesn’t go to school so she doesn’t have to face the normal trials and tribulations that a normal high school student would face, i.e.: bullying or petty high school drama. Instead she has to face her inner demons and she has to learn to find herself again. She has to learn to heal. And that’s what this book is about and that’s why I loved it so much. Don’t get me wrong, I still love reading about drama, but it is also refreshing to be reading Audrey’s story.

I really liked that Audrey is put on this task to make eye-contact with people through a camera lens. I really enjoyed how she documents her life that way. Kudos to Dr. Sarah (Audrey’s therapist). I also really loved the other characters within this novel as well. Specifically, Linus and Felix. Linus and Audrey’s relationship was pitch perfect. I loved that they got to know each other and that their relationship grew slowly. Because that makes it a lot more realistic. And I loved Felix because he is Audrey’s 4 year old little brother and he just made me laugh all the time!

I think that Sophie Kinsella nailed it straight on the head for her debut YA novel! I’m excited to see more YA from her in the future. But I will also be taking a look into her Adult fiction as well! I think that if you’re in the mood for a refreshing read and don’t mind reading about Mental Health issues, then you should give this book a try!

About the Author

sophie kinsellaSophie Kinsella is the author of the bestselling Shopaholic series and the novels Can You Keep a Secret?, The Undomestic Goddess, Remember Me?, Twenties Girl, I’ve Got Your Number, and Wedding Night. Confessions of a Shopaholic was turned into a Hollywood movie. She lives in England.

Website || Twitter

Giveaway

1 PB copy of FINDING AUDREY (US Only)

*must be 13 years or older*

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tour Schedule

May 1: Bookhounds YA

May 2: The Reading Date

May 3: The Fandom

May 4: Here’s To Happy Endings

May 5: Love is Not a Triangle

May 6: Undeniably {Book} Nerdy

May 7: Novel Ink

May 8: Electively Paige

May 9: Into the Hall of Books

May 10: Eclectic Bookworms

May 11: Wall to Wall Books

May 12: Winterhaven Books

May 13: Once Upon A Twilight

May 14: A Midwife Life  

May 15: Book Syrup

May 16: Across the Words

May 17: Slow Reader’s Blog

May 18: Books Buying Beauty

May 19: In Wonderland

May 20: Fangirlish

May 21: YA Interrobang

May 22: Stories for Coffee

May 23: A Midsummer Night’s Read

May 24: Lost in Literature

May 25: Live, Love, Read

May 26: Bookish Lifestyle

May 27: Art Books Coffee

May 28: Luxury Reading

May 29: Peace Love Books

May 30: Swooney Boys Podcast

May 31: Fiction Fare

four-half-stars
Stephanie
Divider
Truthwitch [Review]

Truthwitch [Review]

Posted February 3, 2016 by Stephanie in Review / 3 Comments

My Thoughts THIS BOOK. This book was spectacular! It was so hyped up and it so lived up to all the hype! I love Susan Dennard and her writing. And this book is top notch! One of my all time favorites for sure! I need Windwitch right now! I can’t believe I have to wait another year for the […]

Divider
The Girl At Midnight [Review]

The Girl At Midnight [Review]

Posted September 11, 2015 by Stephanie in Review / 0 Comments

I like to be around all these books. They’re very good at making you forget your troubles. It’s like having a million friends, wrapped in paper and scrawled in ink. Every good fairy tale has a kernel of truth to it. “Humans make art to remember and be remembered,” said Caius. “Art is their weapon […]

Divider
Red Queen [Review]

Red Queen [Review]

Posted August 1, 2015 by Stephanie in Review / 0 Comments

Anyone can betray anyone. In the fairy tales, the poor girl smiles when she becomes a princess. Right now, I don’t know if I’ll ever smile again. I told you to hide your heart once. You should have listened. I am the king and you could’ve been my Red Queen. Now you are nothing. Rise, […]

Divider
The Start of Me and You [Review]

The Start of Me and You [Review]

Posted June 18, 2015 by Stephanie in Review / 6 Comments

In friendship we are all debtors. We all owe each other for a thousand small kindnesses, for little moments of grace in the chaos. Knowing what happens is different from knowing how it happens. And the getting there is the best part. Love extra, even if it means you hurt extra, too. We’re all Elizabeths […]

Divider