Author: Brigid Kemmerer

My Bestie Picks My TBR [March 2020]

Posted March 1, 2020 by Stephanie in TBR / 1 Comment

So, Dana and I had this brilliant idea to choose books each other’s TBR’s. We each chose 8 books for each other to attempt to read for the month of March and I am super excited about this! At the end of the month I’ll make a post on how many I got through and whether or not I liked them or agreed with Dana. Usually, if Dana enjoys a story there’s a 90-95% chance that I’ll enjoy the story just as much as she did. There have been a few here and there that we disagree on. But more often than not, our likes and dislikes for books are pretty similar. So, without further adieu here are the choices Dana chose for me!

Dana: I’ve got four romances, three SFF reads, and a literary fiction for you. I think a few of these might be great audiobook reads since I know you love listening on your rides to work. Definitely some of my favorite books from the past few years, but also books I think you would connect with too.

My Bestie Picks My TBR [March 2020]Every Heart a Doorway (Wayward Children, #1) by Seanan McGuire
Published by Tor.com on April 5, 2016
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy
Pages: 173
Goodreads
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

Dana: Since you love Alice in Wonderland and fairytales, I think you would adore this book about the kids who come back from magical quests and have to learn to live normal lives. Some miss what they experienced and some are forever changed. It’s a novella and should be a fast read for you.

My Bestie Picks My TBR [March 2020]Furyborn by Claire Legrand
Published by Sourcebooks Fire on May 22, 2018
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy
Pages: 501
Goodreads
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

Dana: One of my favorite fantasy reads of recent years. I think from a writer stand point you’ll be amazed at the interwoven plots that Claire has. The world is really unique and so developed. The stakes are high and the female characters are badass.

 

My Bestie Picks My TBR [March 2020]A Princess in Theory by Alyssa Cole
Published by Avon on February 27, 2018
Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 360
Goodreads
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

Dana: OBSESSED with Alyssa Cole and her Reluctant Royals series. I think I like the second two more but this companion series needs to be read in order. We both love a royal romance with a fake country ala hallmark and this one features amazing diversity.

 

My Bestie Picks My TBR [March 2020]Pestilence by Laura Thalassa
Published by Amazon.com Services LLC on March 20, 2018
Genres: Adult, Romance, Fantasy
Pages: 381
Goodreads
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

Dana: Probably the most bonkers book on the list for you. You may love or hate this one. I binge read it in one night and just couldn’t put it down. This series follows the four horsemen of the apocalypse as they come to earth and then fall in love with women. It’s got some unhealthy romantic things going on, but it hooked me in and I kind of just want your thoughts on it.

My Bestie Picks My TBR [March 2020]The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid
Published by Atria Books on June 13, 2017
Genres: Adult, Historical, Romance
Pages: 391
Goodreads
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

Dana: This was a more recent read for me and I really loved it. You need to listen to it via audiobook, because the interviewing style just lends itself to it. I know this is on your TBR and I think you should get to it sooner rather than later.

 

My Bestie Picks My TBR [March 2020]The Friend Zone by Abby Jimenez
Published by Forever (Grand Central Publishing) on June 11, 2019
Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 372
Goodreads
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

Dana: One of my favorite books of 2019, this romance novel is going to make you cry so prepare yourself with tissues and lots of chocolate. The main character deals with uterine fibroids and I think that aspect of seeing a woman dealing with this makes this romance really unique and powerful. Plus, the best friend relationship is fantastic.

My Bestie Picks My TBR [March 2020]A Curse So Dark and Lonely by Brigid Kemmerer
Published by Bloomsbury YA on January 29, 2019
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Retelling, Romance
Pages: 484
Goodreads
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

Dana: This is the second YA fantasy of the list so you don’t have to read both, but I know how much of a sucker we both are for a beauty and the beast retelling and this one is great. I loved that it features disabled representation. There’s a lot of twists and turn that made this one a super fun read.

My Bestie Picks My TBR [March 2020]Hate to Want You by Alisha Rai
Published by Avon on July 25, 2017
Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 371
Goodreads
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

Dana: GURLLLLLL!! Alisha Rai is my queen and this book is *chef kiss* perfection. This is a second chance romance with a twist. Two childhood sweethearts broke up and went their separate ways after something dramatic happened with their families business, but every year on the heroine’s birthday they have hot hot sex. But this birthday she doesn’t call him….and then they see each other again and SPARKS FUCKING FLYYYY

Let’s Talk About It

Have ya’ll read any of these and do you agree with Dana? Which ones should I put at the very top of my list?

xo

Stephanie
Divider

Mini Reviews [2]

Posted May 14, 2015 by Stephanie in Review / 1 Comment

Mini Reviews [2]Storm (Elemental, #1) by Brigid Kemmerer
Published by Kensington on April 24th 2012
Genres: Dystopian, Mythology, Paranormal, Romance, Sci-Fi, Young Adult
Pages: 432
Format: Audiobook, Paperback
Source: Purchased
Goodreads
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

Earth, Fire, Air, Water – they have more power than you dream.
Ever since her ex-boyfriend spread those lies about her, Becca Chandler is suddenly getting all the guys—all the ones she doesn't want. Then she saves Chris Merrick from a beating in the school parking lot. Chris is different. Way different: he can control water—just like his brothers can control fire, wind, and earth. They’re powerful. Dangerous. Marked for death.
And now that she knows the truth, so is Becca.
Secrets are hard to keep when your life’s at stake. When Hunter, the mysterious new kid around school, turns up with a talent for being in the wrong place at the right time, Becca thinks she can trust him. But then Hunter goes head-to-head with Chris, and Becca wonders who’s hiding the most dangerous truth of all.
The storm is coming . . .

So, there have been some books that I have read in the past year or so that I just forgot to write a review for. There are also others that I either DNF’d or just don’t have enough to say for a full size review. So, for those books I will be putting them into these mini-reviews that I will post periodically.

Title: Storm
Author: Brigid Kemmerer
Series: Elemental #1
Genre: Young Adult, Paranormal, Romance, Magic
Published By: Kensington

Where To Get:

 

 

I really enjoyed this book. This book is about Becca and her encounter with four hot brothers who control the elements. I really loved this concept on being able to control the elements. I think it was so cool. Becca endures a journey in this first book and finds out who she really is and who the men in her life really are. The four brothers fight like they’re brothers, but you can tell that they care for one another. I recently purchased the second book in this series and I plan on reading it soon!

Title: Landry Park
Author: Bethany Hagen
Series: Landry Park #1
Genre: Young Adult, Dystopian, Romance, Sci-Fi
Published By: Dial

Where To Get:

 

 

This was a very interesting dystopian. I liked how it went about. It definitely wasn’t what I was expecting, in a good way! It’s about a dystopian future where the gentry class still exists. It’s not your ordinary dystopian. Yes, the corrupted government is there. Yes, there are twisted settings. But the thing that sets this book different from other dystopians is that the politics played a MAJOR role within this book. I loved getting to know Madeline and David. I loved questioning myself when the book raises tough topics. Bethany Hagen definitely has some skill for pulling off such an astounding first book in a series. I can’t wait to read the sequel when in comes out this August!

Title: Falling Under
Author: Gwen Hayes
Series: Falling Under #1
Genre: Young Adult, Paranormal, Romance, Mythology, Demons
Published By: New American Library

Where To Get:

 

 

This book started off kind of like a cliche of other typical YA Paranormal stories. There were some issues I had with the main characters. However, Hayes did a great job at making this book different from other typical YA Paranormal books. She kept me on my toes. And actually got me to really like the two main characters, Theia and Haden. While some of their conversations were just absurd. I think I will continue this series and see how they end up.

Let’s talk about it. Did you read any of these books? If so, what did you think of them? If not, do you want to read them? Leave your thoughts in the comments! 🙂
Stephanie
Divider