Genre: Retelling

My Bestie Picks My TBR [March 2020]

Posted March 1, 2020 by Stephanie in TBR / 1 Comment

So, Dana and I had this brilliant idea to choose books each other’s TBR’s. We each chose 8 books for each other to attempt to read for the month of March and I am super excited about this! At the end of the month I’ll make a post on how many I got through and whether or not I liked them or agreed with Dana. Usually, if Dana enjoys a story there’s a 90-95% chance that I’ll enjoy the story just as much as she did. There have been a few here and there that we disagree on. But more often than not, our likes and dislikes for books are pretty similar. So, without further adieu here are the choices Dana chose for me!

Dana: I’ve got four romances, three SFF reads, and a literary fiction for you. I think a few of these might be great audiobook reads since I know you love listening on your rides to work. Definitely some of my favorite books from the past few years, but also books I think you would connect with too.

My Bestie Picks My TBR [March 2020]Every Heart a Doorway (Wayward Children, #1) by Seanan McGuire
Published by Tor.com on April 5, 2016
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy
Pages: 173
Goodreads
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

Dana: Since you love Alice in Wonderland and fairytales, I think you would adore this book about the kids who come back from magical quests and have to learn to live normal lives. Some miss what they experienced and some are forever changed. It’s a novella and should be a fast read for you.

My Bestie Picks My TBR [March 2020]Furyborn by Claire Legrand
Published by Sourcebooks Fire on May 22, 2018
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy
Pages: 501
Goodreads
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

Dana: One of my favorite fantasy reads of recent years. I think from a writer stand point you’ll be amazed at the interwoven plots that Claire has. The world is really unique and so developed. The stakes are high and the female characters are badass.

 

My Bestie Picks My TBR [March 2020]A Princess in Theory by Alyssa Cole
Published by Avon on February 27, 2018
Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 360
Goodreads
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

Dana: OBSESSED with Alyssa Cole and her Reluctant Royals series. I think I like the second two more but this companion series needs to be read in order. We both love a royal romance with a fake country ala hallmark and this one features amazing diversity.

 

My Bestie Picks My TBR [March 2020]Pestilence by Laura Thalassa
Published by Amazon.com Services LLC on March 20, 2018
Genres: Adult, Romance, Fantasy
Pages: 381
Goodreads
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

Dana: Probably the most bonkers book on the list for you. You may love or hate this one. I binge read it in one night and just couldn’t put it down. This series follows the four horsemen of the apocalypse as they come to earth and then fall in love with women. It’s got some unhealthy romantic things going on, but it hooked me in and I kind of just want your thoughts on it.

My Bestie Picks My TBR [March 2020]The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid
Published by Atria Books on June 13, 2017
Genres: Adult, Historical, Romance
Pages: 391
Goodreads
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

Dana: This was a more recent read for me and I really loved it. You need to listen to it via audiobook, because the interviewing style just lends itself to it. I know this is on your TBR and I think you should get to it sooner rather than later.

 

My Bestie Picks My TBR [March 2020]The Friend Zone by Abby Jimenez
Published by Forever (Grand Central Publishing) on June 11, 2019
Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 372
Goodreads
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

Dana: One of my favorite books of 2019, this romance novel is going to make you cry so prepare yourself with tissues and lots of chocolate. The main character deals with uterine fibroids and I think that aspect of seeing a woman dealing with this makes this romance really unique and powerful. Plus, the best friend relationship is fantastic.

My Bestie Picks My TBR [March 2020]A Curse So Dark and Lonely by Brigid Kemmerer
Published by Bloomsbury YA on January 29, 2019
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Retelling, Romance
Pages: 484
Goodreads
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

Dana: This is the second YA fantasy of the list so you don’t have to read both, but I know how much of a sucker we both are for a beauty and the beast retelling and this one is great. I loved that it features disabled representation. There’s a lot of twists and turn that made this one a super fun read.

My Bestie Picks My TBR [March 2020]Hate to Want You by Alisha Rai
Published by Avon on July 25, 2017
Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 371
Goodreads
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

Dana: GURLLLLLL!! Alisha Rai is my queen and this book is *chef kiss* perfection. This is a second chance romance with a twist. Two childhood sweethearts broke up and went their separate ways after something dramatic happened with their families business, but every year on the heroine’s birthday they have hot hot sex. But this birthday she doesn’t call him….and then they see each other again and SPARKS FUCKING FLYYYY

Let’s Talk About It

Have ya’ll read any of these and do you agree with Dana? Which ones should I put at the very top of my list?

xo

Stephanie
Divider

Geekerella [Review]

Posted December 29, 2017 by Stephanie in Review / 2 Comments

Geekerella [Review]Geekerella by Ashley Poston
Published by Quirk Books on April 4th 2017
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Retelling
Pages: 320
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Goodreads
four-stars
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

Geek girl Elle Wittimer lives and breathes Starfield, the classic science-fiction series she grew up watching with her late father. So when she sees a cosplay contest for a new Starfield movie, she has to enter. The prize? An invitation to the ExcelsiCon Cosplay Ball and a meet-and-greet with the actor slated to play Federation Prince Carmindor in the reboot. With savings from her gig at the Magic Pumpkin food truck and her dad's old costume, Elle's determined to win - unless her stepsisters get there first.

Teen actor Darien Freeman used to live for cons - before he was famous. Now they're nothing but autographs and awkward meet-and-greets. Playing Carmindor is all he has ever wanted, but Starfield fandom has written him off as just another dumb heartthrob. As ExcelsiCon draws near, Darien feels more and more like a fake - until he meets a girl who shows him otherwise. But when she disappears at midnight, will he ever be able to find her again?

Part-romance, part-love letter to nerd culture, and all totally adorbs, Geekerella is a fairy tale for anyone who believes in the magic of fandom.

My Thoughts

You guys… this book was super cute! And it totally made me rewatch A Cinderella Story (with Hillary Duff and Chad Michael Murray)! Cinderella isn’t usually my favorite retelling only because there are so many Cinderella retellings, but I get why. It’s a great plot line and easy to change up and make unique.

I really appreciated that this book brought out all the geeky/nerdy stuff! It was seriously an ode to geeks and it was so much fun to be immersed in that world. I also related to the main character, Elle, pretty well. She is a redhead and she’s a blogger/writer (I believe she wrote fanfic, if I’m not mistaken).

It was cool that part of this novel was written in an epistolaric format because those are always so fun to read. And it was fun to read the texts that Elle and Darien were sending to each other without even knowing who the other was.

All-in-all, this was a really fun read and if you read and loved Fangirl, I think you should try this book!

four-stars

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Stephanie
Divider
Heartless by Marissa Meyer [Review]

Heartless by Marissa Meyer [Review]

Posted January 5, 2017 by Lizzie in Review / 3 Comments

My Thoughts Oh my goodness fellow book nerds! THIS BOOK was everything and more. If you’re a fellow Alice in Wonderland freak as the rest of us, Meyer’s contribution to the canon world is fantastic. As per usual, with books I love this will be short and sweet – so let’s dive in! I think […]

Divider
WoW [80]

WoW [80]

Posted October 19, 2016 by Lizzie in Meme / 2 Comments

Waiting on Wednesday (aka: WoW) is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine, spotlighting releases we are waiting for eagerly. This Week’s Victim Pick…. My Thoughts I have an extreme weakness for anything faerie and anything retellings and beautiful covers. So basically, this hit all the marks to be a true love at first […]

Divider
Review: The Wrath and The Dawn by Renee Adieh

Review: The Wrath and The Dawn by Renee Adieh

Posted October 6, 2016 by Lizzie in Review / 0 Comments

Omigoodness did this book have action. From page one, you are completely thrown into the plot with no time for water and not a single bathroom break. I read this novel from start to finish in one afternoon! Usually with fantasy I love when authors take their time explaining the world to you, letting the […]

Divider
WoW [77]

WoW [77]

Posted September 28, 2016 by Lizzie in Meme / 1 Comment

Waiting on Wednesday (aka: WoW) is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine, spotlighting releases we are waiting for eagerly. This Week’s Victim Pick…. My Thoughts Beware the goblin?? OKAY. Sold. Done. Gimme, GIMMEE. I love fantasy, I love how authors around the world twist their imagination and come up with stories like this […]

Divider