Genre: Time Travel

WoW [111]

Posted July 5, 2017 by Stephanie in Meme / 4 Comments

Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday (aka: WoW) is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine, spotlighting releases we are waiting for eagerly.

This Week’s Victim Pick….

WoW [111]Invictus by Ryan Graudin
Published by Little on September 26th 2017
Genres: Young Adult, Sci-Fi, Time Travel, Historical
Pages: 464
Goodreads
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

Time flies when you're plundering history.
Farway Gaius McCarthy was born outside of time. The son of a time-traveling Recorder from 2354 AD and a gladiator living in Rome in 95 AD, Far's birth defies the laws of nature. Exploring history himself is all he's ever wanted, and after failing his final time-traveling exam, Far takes a position commanding a ship with a crew of his friends as part of a black market operation to steal valuables from the past. But during a heist on the sinking Titanic, Far meets a mysterious girl who always seems to be one step ahead of him. Armed with knowledge that will bring Far's very existence into question, she will lead Far and his team on a race through time to discover a frightening truth: History is not as steady as it seems.
In this heart-stopping adventure, Ryan Graudin has created a fast-paced world that defies time and space.

My Thoughts

This story just sounds so intriguing to me and cannot wait to read it! Have any of you been lucky enough to get a copy?

And now…over to you: what book are you waiting to release? Link me up and I’ll try my best to drop by! 🙂

Stephanie
Divider

WoW [100]

Posted March 15, 2017 by Lizzie in Meme / 1 Comment

Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday (aka: WoW) is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine, spotlighting releases we are waiting for eagerly.

This Week’s Victim Pick….

WoW [100]Cold Summer by Gwen Cole
Published by Sky Pony Press on May 2nd 2017
Genres: Young Adult, Historical, Sci-Fi, Time Travel
Pages: 256
Goodreads
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

Today, he’s a high school dropout with no future. Tomorrow, he’s a soldier in World War II.
Kale Jackson has spent years trying to control his time-traveling ability but hasn’t had much luck. One day he lives in 1945, fighting in the war as a sharpshooter and helplessly watching soldiers—friends—die. Then the next day, he’s back in the present, where WWII has bled into his modern life in the form of PTSD, straining his relationship with his father and the few friends he has left. Every day it becomes harder to hide his battle wounds, both physical and mental, from the past.
When the ex-girl-next-door, Harper, moves back to town, thoughts of what could be if only he had a normal life begin to haunt him. Harper reminds him of the person he was before the PTSD, which helps anchor him to the present. With practice, maybe Kale could remain in the present permanently and never step foot on a battlefield again. Maybe he can have the normal life he craves.
But then Harper finds Kale’s name in a historical article—and he’s listed as a casualty of the war. Kale knows now that he must learn to control his time-traveling ability to save himself and his chance at a life with Harper. Otherwise, he’ll be killed in a time where he doesn’t belong by a bullet that was never meant for him.

My Thoughts

This sounds so interesting! Very rarely do we find a book about time travel that isn’t a form of travel the user does for fun. I love the idea of it being uncontrollable, especially to such a complex time period. Seems like we are going to get a classic love story tucked into there as well, and I’m a sucker for a good love story. Into historical fiction/sci-fi? Go add this on Goodreads! Either way, this pick is out in the Spring and if I were you I might be thinking about that preorder….

And now…over to you: what book are you waiting to release? Link me up and I’ll try my best to drop by! 🙂

Lizzie
Divider
Passenger [Review]

Passenger [Review]

Posted March 7, 2016 by Stephanie in Review / 4 Comments

My Thoughts It is so hard to put my thoughts into words with this book. It was beautiful. The story was beautiful, the writing was beautiful. Honestly, this entire book was beautiful and I really don’t think that there is much for me to say other than I really loved this book. This was my […]

Divider
Once Upon A Kiss [Review]

Once Upon A Kiss [Review]

Posted January 4, 2016 by Stephanie in Review / 1 Comment

Title: Once Upon a Kiss Author: Robin Palmer Series: Standalone Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary yet Sci-fi Pages: 304 Published By: Speak on January 5, 2016 Challenges: 2015 Reading Challenge **I received a copy of this from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.** Where To Get:   So much has happened since 1986, and Zoe Brenner is about to find out […]

Divider
The Girl from Everywhere [Review]

The Girl from Everywhere [Review]

Posted December 27, 2015 by Maria in Review / 1 Comment

Title: The Girl from Everywhere Author: Heidi Heilig Series: The Girl from Everywhere Genre: Fantasy, Time Travel, Historical Fiction Published By: Greenwillow BooksPages: 464 **I received a copy of this from the publisher and author in exchange for an honest review.** Where To Get:   Heidi Heilig’s debut teen fantasy sweeps from modern-day New York City to nineteenth-century Hawaii to places […]

Divider