Publisher: Createspace

Mini Reviews [3]

Posted September 20, 2015 by Stephanie in Review / 0 Comments

by J.A. Redmerski, Kami Garcia
Published by Createspace, Little, Brown Books for Young Readers Genres: Contemporary, New Adult, Paranormal, Road Trip, Romance, Young Adult
Format: Audiobook, Paperback
Source: Purchased
Mini Reviews [3]The Edge of Never (The Edge of Never, #1) by J.A. Redmerski
Published by Createspace on November 15th 2012
Pages: 426
Goodreads
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

Twenty-year-old Camryn Bennett had always been one to think out-of-the-box, who knew she wanted something more in life than following the same repetitive patterns and growing old with the same repetitive life story. And she thought that her life was going in the right direction until everything fell apart.
Determined not to dwell on the negative and push forward, Camryn is set to move in with her best friend and plans to start a new job. But after an unexpected night at the hottest club in downtown North Carolina, she makes the ultimate decision to leave the only life she’s ever known, far behind.
With a purse, a cell phone and a small bag with a few necessities, Camryn, with absolutely no direction or purpose boards a Greyhound bus alone and sets out to find herself. What she finds is a guy named Andrew Parrish, someone not so very different from her and who harbors his own dark secrets. But Camryn swore never to let down her walls again. And she vowed never to fall in love.
But with Andrew, Camryn finds herself doing a lot of things she never thought she’d do. He shows her what it’s really like to live out-of-the-box and to give in to her deepest, darkest desires. On their sporadic road-trip he becomes the center of her exciting and daring new life, pulling love and lust and emotion out of her in ways she never imagined possible. But will Andrew’s dark secret push them inseparably together, or tear them completely apart?

Due to sexual content and language, this book is recommended for 17+ – Adult Contemporary Women’s – New Adult Fiction

Mini Reviews [3]Unbreakable by Kami Garcia
Series: The Legion #1
Published by Little on October 1st 2013
Genres: Young Adult
Pages: 305
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Goodreads
four-stars
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

Supernatural meets The Da Vinci Code in this action-packed paranormal thriller, the first book in a new series from New York Times bestselling author Kami Garcia.
I never believed in ghosts. Until one tried to kill me.

When Kennedy Waters finds her mother dead, her world begins to unravel. She doesn’t know that paranormal forces in a much darker world are the ones pulling the strings. Not until identical twins Jared and Lukas Lockhart break into Kennedy’s room and destroy a dangerous spirit sent to kill her. The brothers reveal that her mother was part of an ancient secret society responsible for protecting the world from a vengeful demon — a society whose five members were all murdered on the same night.
Now Kennedy has to take her mother’s place in the Legion if she wants to uncover the truth and stay alive. Along with new Legion members Priest and Alara, the teens race to find the only weapon that might be able to destroy the demon — battling the deadly spirits he controls every step of the way.
Suspense, romance, and the paranormal meet in this chilling urban fantasy, the first book in a new series from Kami Garcia, bestselling coauthor of the Beautiful Creatures novels.

So, there have been some books that I have read in the past year or so that I just forgot to write a review for. There are also others that I either DNF’d or just don’t have enough to say for a full size review. So, for those books I will be putting them into these mini-reviews that I will post periodically.

Title: The Edge of Never
Author: J.A. Redmerski
Series: The Edge of Never #1
Genre: New Adult, Romance, Road Trip, Contemporary
Published By: Forever

Where To Get:

 

I really enjoyed this one. I thought it was a fun read and perfect for when in the mood for traveling/road tripping and some romance. This is DEFINITELY a New Adult book, so do not read it unless you are prepared for some sexy times. 🙂

Title: Unbreakable
Author: Kami Garcia
Series: The Legion #1
Genre: Young Adult, Paranormal, Ghosts, Romance, Thriller
Published By: Little, Brown Books FYR on October 1, 2013

Where To Get:

 

I listened to this one on audiobook and I will tell you that the main reason why I wanted to listen to it was because the narrator was Candace Accola (Caroline from The Vampire Diaries) and I love her and I think she did a great job! I really enjoyed listening to this one. It was a quick one (I think like 6 hours or so) and it was an interesting story.

 

Let’s talk about it!
Did you read any of these books? If so, what did you think of them? If not, do you want to read them? Leave your thoughts in the comments! 🙂
Stephanie
Divider

A French Girl In New York [Review]

Posted February 21, 2015 by Stephanie in Review / 2 Comments

A French Girl In New York [Review]A French Girl in New York by Anna Adams
Series: The French Girl #1
Published by Createspace on July 30th 2014
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 362
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Goodreads
two-half-stars
Series Rating: three-stars
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

Maude Laurent is a spirited sixteen-year-old orphan who grew up in a small, provincial town in the north of France with a passion for piano and a beautiful voice. One day in Paris, she is discovered by an American music producer who takes her to New York to live with him and his close-knit family while producing her first album, with help from teen pop star, Matt. Maude will dive into a new fascinating world discovering New York City, music, family, love and the truth about her past.

Title: A French Girl In New York
Author: Anna Adams
Series: The French Girl #1
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Fairytale Retelling, Music
Pages: 273
Published By: Anna Adams, December 21, 2012
Challenges: 2015 TBR Pile, YA & NA Romance Color Challenge

Where To Get:

 

Maude Laurent is a spirited sixteen year-old orphan who grew up in a small, provincial town in the North of France with a passion for piano and a beautiful voice. One day in Paris, she is discovered by an American music producer who takes her to New York to live with him and his close-knit family while producing her first album, with help from teen pop star, Matt. Maude will dive into a new fascinating world discovering New York City, music, family, love and the truth about her past.
(Goodreads)

“Music is everywhere,” Maude said softly. “It is in the water, in the wind’s hum, in the bird’s cry, in the boat’s horn. Rhythm surrounds us. That is one of life’s greatest gifts.”

I enjoyed this book, but I didn’t love it. I will continue on the series at some point. But it was just one of those books that you liked well enough, but I just couldn’t get myself to love it. There are aspects of this book that I love. But there are aspects that I don’t love, too.

I liked the storyline a lot. It was a Cinderella retelling and at the end there was a twist that made it a fresh story in itself. I also, really liked Maude and Matt. Maude was this strong character who got dealt a really shitty hand in the beginning of her life. Matt is simply adorable. The two of them together = cute. However, it took a while for them to admit to each other that they had feelings for one another. But it took them forever to get together! I wish that was a shorter time frame because I would have liked to see them together more.

The thing that irritated me the most and made it harder for me to read was the different points of view. Okay, I have no problem when an author wants to have different points of view. But the way this was done, was confusing. It wasn’t done chapter to chapter or even separated into sections. It was done within the same few paragraphs and it was really difficult for me to read it that way.

I think that this is a great story with great potential. I just think it could have used another round of drafting and editing. But I liked the story and characters enough to want to continue their story. So, I’m hoping that the second book is better.

 

Let’s talk about it. Did you read A French Girl In New York? What did you think of it? Leave your thoughts in the comments! 🙂
two-half-stars
Stephanie
Divider
Written On Her Heart [Review]

Written On Her Heart [Review]

Posted December 16, 2014 by Stephanie in Review / 1 Comment

  My Thoughts: I thought that this book was refreshing. It was another good one that got me back in the spirit of not only reading but writing as well. I loved that Andi was a writer. I loved that Ford was a writer. I loved the chemistry they had together. Paige Rion’s writing was […]

Divider