Publisher: Entangled: Teen

Interview with Victoria Scott!

Posted March 2, 2017 by Stephanie in book blitz, Interview / 0 Comments

Interview with Victoria Scott!Violet Grenade by Victoria Scott
Published by Entangled TEEN on May 2nd 2017
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Thriller
Pages: 300
Goodreads
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

DOMINO: A runaway with blood on her hands.
CAIN: A silent boy about to explode.
MADAM KARINA: A woman who demands obedience.
WILSON: The one who will destroy them all.
When Madam Karina discovers Domino in an alleyway, she offers her a position inside her home for entertainers in secluded West Texas. Left with few alternatives and an agenda of her own, Domino accepts. It isn’t long before she is fighting her way up the ranks to gain the madam’s approval. But after suffering weeks of bullying and unearthing the madam’s secrets, Domino decides to leave. It’ll be harder than she thinks, though, because the madam doesn’t like to lose inventory. But then, Madam Karina doesn’t know about the person living inside Domino’s mind.
Madam Karina doesn’t know about Wilson.

What was it like to write a psychological thriller like Violet Grenade? (Did it ever make you feel crazy?)

As opposed to not feeling crazy? You do know I’m a fiction writer, correct? Ha! It was a blast writing a psychological book. Challenging, to be sure, but fun. As far as the “thriller” aspect, I’ve always tried to weave in that sensation of needing to turn the pages faster in all my stories, so that part felt familiar.

You’ve written books in a few different genres, what was your favorite genre to write and why?

I think each new genre I write becomes my current favorite because it feels fresh. And everything I’ve done in the past feels like an ex-boyfriend—Fun at the time, but also ancient history. Then again, the farther I get away from a genre, the more it becomes enticing again. Much like looking at past relationships through rose-colored lenses once old wounds have healed.

What is your favorite thing to do during the writing process, i.e.: brainstorming, plotting, writing, editing, Pinterest, etc. and why?

Drafting is probably my favorite, but only after I slowed down on how many words I tried to put on the page each day. I used to write 2+ books a year, and drafting was taxing then. Now that I write one manuscript a year, it’s become more of a treat to sit down and have creative time.

What was your favorite character to write in Violet Grenade?

Without a doubt, that character is Wilson. Wilson is the voice inside our main character, Domino’s, head. She has a rather heavy, tragic past, and Wilson was created during that time to protect her from those memories, and from what happened to her. But he has a personality, and opinions, that are his own. I love his snarky side, and the way he protects Domino.

What was the most difficult thing you encountered while writing Violet Grenade?

Probably balancing the fact that this is a modern, contemporary story, but that this house Domino goes to live in feels fantastical. I wanted this tell this story in a way that would sweep readers to another place, while keeping one foot on solid ground. That was difficult.

About the Author

Victoria Scott is the author of eight novels including Titans, Fire & Flood, Salt & Stone, the Dante Walker trilogy, Hear the Wolves (March 2017), and Violet Grenade (May 2017). She is published by Scholastic and Entangled Teen, and is represented by Sara Crowe of Pippin Properties.

Victoria’s latest novel, Titans, received two starred reviews, and Fire & Flood has been selected as a 2017 Spirit of Texas Reading Program book. Victoria’s novels have been bought and translated in fourteen foreign markets. The author currently resides in Philadelphia, and loves hearing from her readers.

Victoria Scott Links:

Let’s talk about it!

Stephanie
Divider

Thief of Lies [Review]

Posted February 3, 2017 by Stephanie in Review / 1 Comment

Thief of Lies [Review]Thief of Lies by Brenda Drake
Series: Library Jumpers #1
Published by Entangled TEEN on January 5th 2016
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy
Pages: 378
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Goodreads
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

Gia Kearns would rather fight with boys than kiss them. That is, until Arik, a leather-clad hottie in the Boston Athenaeum, suddenly disappears. While examining the book of world libraries he abandoned, Gia unwittingly speaks the key that sucks her and her friends into a photograph and transports them into a Paris library, where Arik and his Sentinels—magical knights charged with protecting humans from the creatures traveling across the gateway books—rescue them from a demonic hound.
Jumping into some of the world's most beautiful libraries would be a dream come true for Gia, if she weren't busy resisting her heart or dodging an exiled wizard seeking revenge on both the Mystik and human worlds. Add a French flirt obsessed with Arik and a fling with a young wizard, and Gia must choose between her heart and her head, between Arik’s world and her own, before both are destroyed.

My Thoughts

Okay, so first things first. Who wouldn’t want to jump through a portal that takes you to different libraries?! Sign me up please! And then if Arik (pronounced Ah-ric, in case you were wondering) just happens to show his hot face and “rock hard arms” I’ll be even more ecstatic, especially since he quotes books!

He held the book out to me. “Mistress Mary, quite contrary, how does your garden grow?” He’d quoted a verse from The Secret Garden with a sexy accent that tickled my ears.

Yes, he can whisper sweet nothings in my ear and have them tickling as much as he’d like! haha. Sorry, not sorry. 🙂 But I really loved him as a character and he is definitely going on my list of book boyfriends!

Now, the main character in this book is Gia. And I actually really liked her! She was super awkward at the girly kind of stuff but she could totally kick your ass in kickboxing or fencing. I thought it was really cool for her to have those kind of hobbies/interests. And let’s not forget, she is also a girl who loves libraries and books. A girl after my own heart!

“Gia, you can never be lonely in the company of books.”

I loved getting to know Gia and her history and what she is. I think it’d be a lot of fun to be a Sentinel! I’d just have to beef up my fighting skills.

I had a lot of fun reading this story and am super stoked for the second installment, Guardian of Secrets! If you’re someone who wants to read a book about jumping through portals through different libraries, Sentinels, and some asskicking, then you should really take a shot with this book! 🙂

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Stephanie
Divider
The Replacement Crush [Review]

The Replacement Crush [Review]

Posted August 25, 2016 by Stephanie in Review / 1 Comment

My Thoughts I really loved this book! I wish there were more books like this. You know the ones where the main character is a book blogger. Or the main character’s parent is an author. Or a book that its setting takes place mostly in a bookstore called Murder By The Sea. Or a romance […]

Divider
Blog Tour: The Revolution of Ivy [Review & Giveaway]

Blog Tour: The Revolution of Ivy [Review & Giveaway]

Posted November 12, 2015 by Stephanie in Blog Tour, Giveaway, Review / 0 Comments

Click here for the rest of the Tour Schedule! Title: The Revolution of Ivy Author: Amy Engel Series: The Book of Ivy #2 Genre: Young Adult, Dystopian, Romance Pages: 290 Published By: Entangled Teen Challenges: Blog Tour for YA Bound Book Tours Where To Get:   Ivy Westfall is beyond the fence and she is alone. Abandoned by her family and separated […]

Divider
The Book of Ivy [Review]

The Book of Ivy [Review]

Posted April 27, 2015 by Stephanie in Review / 4 Comments

My mission is not to make him happy and bear his children and be his wife. My mission is to kill him. He didn’t save me, though. He allowed me the freedom to save myself, which is the very best type of rescue. “Because I’m in love with you, Ivy,” he whispers. “Giving up on […]

Divider
Blog Tour: How (Not) To Fall In Love [Review + Giveaway]

Blog Tour: How (Not) To Fall In Love [Review + Giveaway]

Posted February 4, 2015 by Stephanie in Blog Tour, Review / 2 Comments

Title: How (Not) To Fall In Love Author: Lisa Brown Roberts Series: Standalone Genre: Young Adult, Romance, Contemporary Pages: 355 Published By: Entangled Teen, February 3rd 2015 Challenges: Blog Tour for YA Bound Book Tours Where To Get:     Finding true love on the other side of the tracks was never so much fun in this heartfelt and hilarious contemporary novel. […]

Divider