Publisher: Speak

Once Upon A Kiss [Review]

Posted January 4, 2016 by Stephanie in Review / 1 Comment

Once Upon A Kiss [Review]Once Upon a Kiss by Robin Palmer
Published by Speak on January 5th 2016
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Time Travel
Pages: 304
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
Goodreads
four-stars
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

So much has happened since 1986, and Zoe Brenner is about to find out just how much.
From the author of the book that inspired the Disney original movie Geek Charming!

It's 1986 and sixteen-year-old Zoe Brenner's world revolves around Depeche Mode, Judd Nelson, exercise-obsessed parents, and her best friend Jonah. Then one day, in a freak Fun-Dip choking accident, Zoe falls unconscious, and awakes in the year 2016. So much has changed, and Zoe needs Jonah to help her make sense of it all. But in this life, Zoe is the most popular girl in school, and she soon realizes this Zoe doesn't associate with nerds like Jonah. As Zoe juggles new technology, attempts to hide her enthusiasm for poet blouses, and manages to keep her super jock boyfriend at bay, she tries to rekindle her friendship with Jonah and use her popularity for a good cause. Will she ever get back to 1986? And more importantly, does she want to?

Title: Once Upon a Kiss
Author: Robin Palmer
Series: Standalone
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary yet Sci-fi
Pages: 304
Published By: Speak on January 5, 2016
Challenges: 2015 Reading Challenge

**I received a copy of this from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.**

Where To Get:

 

So much has happened since 1986, and Zoe Brenner is about to find out just how much. 

From the author of the book that inspired the Disney original movie Geek Charming!

It’s 1986 and sixteen-year-old Zoe Brenner’s world revolves around Depeche Mode, Judd Nelson, exercise-obsessed parents, and her best friend Jonah. Then one day, in a freak Fun-Dip choking accident, Zoe falls unconscious, and awakes in the year 2016. So much has changed, and Zoe needs Jonah to help her make sense of it all. But in this life, Zoe is the most popular girl in school, and she soon realizes this Zoe doesn’t associate with nerds like Jonah. As Zoe juggles new technology, attempts to hide her enthusiasm for poet blouses, and manages to keep her super jock boyfriend at bay, she tries to rekindle her friendship with Jonah and use her popularity for a good cause. Will she ever get back to 1986? And more importantly, does she want to?
(Goodreads)

I really enjoyed this book! It reminded me a lot like the movies, 13 Going on 30 mixed with Mean Girls and it was simply adorable! It is a little daunting knowing that 1986 was 30 years ago. Which means I am only a short 4 years away from being 30, however, this book delivered the cute and quirky that I was hoping it would!

Zoe got transported from 1986 to 2016, The entire thing was pretty much dreamlike, since she was the same age in both years and all of her classmates were there in both time periods as well. Only the 2016 version of Zoe was this “Regina George” like character as to where the 1986 version was this timid and quiet version. I really liked watching Zoe transform her 2016 version into a better version of herself.

I really enjoyed Jonah and Montana. They were totally my kind of people. I also really liked Zoe’s family in both versions. They were hysterical! And it totally reminded me of my family (the embarrassing moments yet you love them anyways and wouldn’t have them any other way!)

If you’re in the mood for a romantic comedy with time travel in it. You should pick up this book and give it a shot! I kid you not it is 13 Going On 30 meets Mean Girls. It’s quirky and cute and just perfect to sit down for a couple hours and get lost in the fun!

Time to Throwback!

Because this book made me think of a lot of stuff from my past. Here are some things that were from my childhood. Do you remember any of these?
And here is a collage of all things 90s that I found!
Let’s talk about it!
Did you read Once Upon a Kiss? Or do you want to?
 Leave your thoughts in the comments! 🙂

 

four-stars
Stephanie
Divider

Sleeping Freshmen Never Lie [Review]

Posted July 29, 2015 by Stephanie in Review / 1 Comment

Sleeping Freshmen Never Lie [Review]Sleeping Freshmen Never Lie by David Lubar
Series: Sleeping Freshmen Never Lie #1
Published by Speak on January 18th 2007
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Realistic, Humor
Pages: 288
Format: Paperback
Source: Publisher
Goodreads
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

Freaks and bullies, classes and crushes, this is high school.
Starting high school is never easy. Seniors take your lunch money. Girls you’ve known forever are suddenly beautiful and unattainable. And you can never get enough sleep. Could there be a worse time for Scott’s mother to announce she’s pregnant? Scott decides high school would be a lot less overwhelming if it came with a survival manual, so he begins to write down tips for his new sibling. Meanwhile, he’s trying his best to capture the attention of Julia, the freshman goddess. In the process, Scott manages to become involved in nearly everything the school has to offer. So while he tries to find his place in the confusing world of high school, win Julia’s heart, and keep his sanity, Scott will be recording all the details for his sibling’s—and your—enjoyment.

Read the companion novel, Sophomores and Other Oxymorons, coming August 18, 2015!

Title: Sleeping Freshman Never Lie
Author: David Lubar
Series: Sleeping Freshmen Never Lie #1
Genre: Young Adult, Humor, Realistic, Contemporary, High School
Pages: 279
Published By: Dutton Books FYR on July 21, 2005
Challenges: 2015 TBR Pile, 2015 YA Contemporary, 2015 Reading Challenge

**I received a copy of this from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.**

Where To Get:

 

 

Freaks and bullies, classes and crushes, this is high school.

Starting high school is never easy. Seniors take your lunch money. Girls you’ve known forever are suddenly beautiful and unattainable. And you can never get enough sleep. Could there be a worse time for Scott’s mother to announce she’s pregnant? Scott decides high school would be a lot less overwhelming if it came with a survival manual, so he begins to write down tips for his new sibling. Meanwhile, he’s trying his best to capture the attention of Julia, the freshman goddess. In the process, Scott manages to become involved in nearly everything the school has to offer. So while he tries to find his place in the confusing world of high school, win Julia’s heart, and keep his sanity, Scott will be recording all the details for his sibling’s—and your—enjoyment.
(Goodreads)

Smelly. There you go. It’s perfect. It fits you in so many ways. Fits like a glove. Or a bulging diaper.

Let’s face it – with a few exceptions, nobody likes anybody.

You know what guys do? They stand up for people.

Man – if every person who ever felt lonely killed himself, the world would be littered with corpses. And far lonelier.

See Scott run, Run Scott run. See Scott die, No such luck.

I really enjoyed this book! I went in reading this book, not really knowing what to expect. After I posted a pic of the book, I received a tweet saying that this book was funny. And yes, it was funny! I really enjoyed this book by David Lubar and am super excited to read the companion to this that comes out next month!

This book is about Scott Hudson and his freshman year of high school. Scott is this witty and funny main character who finds out that his parents are expecting another baby. After he finds that out, he ends up writing a journal to this baby to help him/her out for when they get to high school.

Throughout this book, I laughed out loud. And there were a couple of times that I was sad with whatever was going on with the characters. It deals with what to do and what not to do when you enter high school. It deals with losing friends, gaining new ones, and a lot of change. I really enjoyed learning about Scott and his family. But I was really happy to learn more about Lee! 🙂

I think that this is a great book and more people should read it. If you’re in the mood for a realistic YA contemporary that can make you laugh, please check this book out! I loved it and will be reading the companion novel soon. 🙂

Let’s talk about it!
Did you read Sleeping Freshmen Never Lie? Or any other of David’s books? What did you think of them? Leave your thoughts in the comments! 🙂
four-stars
Stephanie
Divider