Source: Author

Welcome to Your Life [Review]

Posted July 20, 2017 by Stephanie in Review / 2 Comments

Welcome to Your Life [Review]Welcome to Your Life by Katrina Marie
Published by Katrina Marie on August 3rd 2017
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 147
Format: Paperback, eARC
Source: Author
Goodreads
four-half-stars
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

My Thoughts

Welcome to Your Life was a lovely read and I’m not just saying that because the author is one of my dear friends. I’m saying that because it really was a lovely read.

I loved Tonya, the main character. I loved her so much. Tonya decides to break up her relationship with her high school boyfriend Jake. And thank goodness, because he is a real class-A jackass. And then she finds out that she’s pregnant with his baby. But even though she is pregnant with his baby, she makes the right decision by NOT going back to him because he really wasn’t ready to be a father yet nor someone who can emotionally support Tonya.

Having given birth a short 3 months ago, being pregnant and the things I went through are still stuck with me and watching Tonya go through that stuff made me relate to her even more. I really related to Tonya. She didn’t do any of those birthing classes and it was a little refreshing to see that because I decided to wing it and I didn’t do any of those classes either. I figured my body prepares itself for the pregnancy and delivery, my body will tell me how to breathe during delivery. And guess what, it totally did.

I saw a review say that Tonya doesn’t really eat healthy during this pregnancy and that reviewer didn’t like it. But guess what. When you’re pregnant, there are some things you just don’t want. And sometimes you’re repulsed by certain foods. It happens. When I was pregnant a good cheeseburger with grilled onions on it always made me happy. Yea every so often I’d want a really good salad, but I craved cheeseburgers and hot sauce more often and totally gave into those cravings. And I’m a decade older than Tonya is.

But anyways, back to my review. Within Tonya’s journey, she is continuing her education by taking classes at the community college and I loved that she still stuck through school while having a bowling ball of a stomach. I give her a lot of credit. While taking an art class, she meets Reaf. And let me tell you, Reaf is a total stand up guy and I adored him. If my daughter brought home Reaf.. I would definitely approve of him! He liked Tonya for who she was and he didn’t care that she was pregnant with another man’s baby. He truly cared for her and did whatever he could to make her life easier. And I really respect that about him!

Another thing that I loved about Tonya was that even though she had so much on her plate, when her best friend Cami needed her, she was still there no matter what. I really loved the friendship between Tonya and Cami and I cannot wait to read about Cami’s life in the follow up companion to this!

I think you all should give this one a chance! It’s got tough issues but a really sweet romance as well!

four-half-stars

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Stephanie
Divider

Blog Tour: The Telling [Review & Fave Quotes]

Posted October 4, 2016 by Stephanie in Blog Tour, Fave Quotes, Review / 0 Comments

Blog Tour: The Telling [Review & Fave Quotes]The Telling by Alexandra Sirowy
Published by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers on August 2nd 2016
Genres: Young Adult, Mystery, Thriller
Pages: 400
Format: eARC
Source: Author
Goodreads
three-half-stars
Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Book Depository

Lana used to know what was real.
That was before, when her life was small and quiet.
Her golden stepbrother, Ben, was alive.
She could only dream about bonfiring with the populars.
Their wooded island home was idyllic, she could tell the truth from lies, and Ben’s childhood stories were firmly in her imagination.
Then came after.
After has Lana boldly kissing her crush, jumping into the water from too high up, living with nerve and mischief.
But after also has horrors, deaths that only make sense in fairy tales, and terrors from a past Lana thought long forgotten: Love, blood, and murder.

My Thoughts

First things first. Alexandra Sirowy knows how to write. And write well. I absolutely fell in love with her writing style. I thought it was beautifully written. And because of her writing style I will gladly check out the rest of her books. I do have The Creeping sitting on my shelves (well in my case my boxes because my husband is in the process of making my shelves).

I liked the characters for the most part, but I did feel that they could have had more depth to them. Had they had more depth to them, I would have loved the characters for sure! But I did love the romance between Lana and Josh. I thought it was super cute. And I definitely felt that there were some pages that could be taken out and not missed at all. But that’s not always the author’s choice.

The main issue I had with this book and why it is only getting 3.5 stars from me is because it is so predictable. There were a couple instances where I was like oh that’s not what I thought. But the main mystery I had guessed very early on. Now, I’m not sure if that is just me and I got lucky with my guess. But I wanted more to the mystery. I wanted more twists or suspense.

Despite the faults that I had with this book, I still enjoyed the story and the writing and I will definitely be checking out The Creeping and also any other future books by Alexandra Sirowy!

Favorite Quotes

“Exercise your nerve and mischief.”

“Her pale form stands out against the night. She has the look of a character from one of Ben’s stories. My throat tightens. She reminds me of the lily-pad maiden who was strangled by a mad king and left in a watery grave.”

“I wish I’d gotten to know you way earlier than this summer. And I’m not going to waste any more time,” he says. “I like you, too. A lot.”

“Yesterday I was a damaged nerve. I was numb in some places and too sensitive in others. This morning I know exactly what must happen next.”

About the Authoralexandra-sirowy

Alexandra Sirowy was born in Northern California and grew up in Providence, Rhode Island and the San Francisco Bay Area. She attended a women’s college as an undergraduate and has a graduate degree in International Studies. She lives in Northern California with her husband.
Author Links: Website || Goodreads || Twitter || Facebook || Pinterest || Tumblr

Tour Schedule

October 1, 2016

 A Reading Nurse & The Unofficial Addiction Book Fan Club – Welcome Post

October 2, 2016

Ink of Blood – Review
A Book Addict’s Bookshelves – Promotional Post
October 3, 2016
Roadside Reader – Review
Enchanted Excurse – Review
Little Library Muse – Promotional Post
October 4, 2016
In Wonderland – Review + Favorite Quotes
Zerina Blossom’s Books – Promotional Post
October 5, 2016
Literary Meanderings – Promotional Post
October 6, 2016
YA Obsessed – Review
Mama Reads Hazel Sleeps – Promotional Post
October 7, 2016
The Lovely Books – Review
Wishful Endings – Promotional Post
three-half-stars
Stephanie
Divider
Interference [Review & Giveaway]

Interference [Review & Giveaway]

Posted September 30, 2016 by Stephanie in Giveaway, Review / 2 Comments

My Thoughts I really enjoyed reading Interference. I thought that it was such a cute read! And let’s be honest I will read anything (and I mean anything) that is paired or reminiscent of Jane Austen. I love that Interference is reminiscent of Emma and I think that even though it had Emma qualities to it, […]

Divider
Scarred [Review]

Scarred [Review]

Posted July 6, 2016 by Stephanie in Review / 0 Comments

My Thoughts Beautiful story! So moving. I really loved what Joanne Macgregor created within this story. It’s about overcoming trauma. And it’s not just the trauma from Sloane’s accident, but there is also bullying within this novel and Joanna Macgregor shows just how cruel the world really can be, and it’s heartbreaking that it’s like […]

Divider